Digital public services

Brief summary

The Confederation, communes and cities are strengthening cooperation on setting up and managing "digital public services". In this regard, the Federal Council and the Plenary Assembly of the Conference of the Cantonal Governments of Switzerland (CCG) agreed on a comprehensive project at the beginning of April 2020. Existing staff and financial resources should be combined in a new joint organisation to ensure more effective use and accelerate progress in the digitalisation of public services. On 11 and 25 June 2021, the Federal Council and the cantonal governments approved the implementation in principle of Digital Public Services Switzerland in accordance with the framework. The new public-law framework agreement still needs to be ratified by the Federal Council and the cantonal governments by the end of 2021, in order for Digital Public Services Switzerland to go into operation from January 2022.


Current status

At the end of August 2020, the Federal Council and the Executive Committee of the CCG appointed Mr Peppino Giarritta as digital public services officer for the Confederation and cantons. He took up the position on 1 March 2021. He leads and is responsible for the development of digital public services (DPS) and will manage the DPS office, which is administratively part of the GS-FDF.

During its meeting on 11 June 2021, the Federal Council took note of the principles for implementing Digital Public Services Switzerland as of 1 January 2022 and approved the implementation in principle in accordance with the available documents. In order to accelerate the development of infrastructures and basic services for the handling of electronic processes, the Federal Council decided on additional funding totalling CHF 15 million for 2022 and 2023 to finance the planned "DPSS national infrastructures and basic services" agenda. The cantonal governments likewise expressed their opinion on Digital Public Services Switzerland at the Plenary Assembly on 25 June 2021. They also fundamentally agree with DPSS implementation in accordance with the principles.

The project organisation, which is supported by the FDF and the CCG, will finalise the framework agreement in accordance with the consultation results and submit it to the Federal Council and the cantonal governments for adoption in the autumn.

Principles

Since 2008, the Confederation, cantons and communes have been working together to establish digital public services in Switzerland. For this purpose, they have defined a joint eGovernment strategy; implementation is coordinated by the tripartite organisation eGovernment Switzerland. Other organisations such as the Swiss Conference on Informatics (SIK/CSI) or the eCH standardisation association promote the use of information and communication technology in public administrations. As a result, in recent years the Confederation, cantons and communes have laid a great deal of groundwork and set up a large number of electronic government services.

Harmonisation task

In an international comparison, the digitalisation of services and processes in Swiss public administrations is proceeding rather slowly. In addition, new challenges are emerging, such as the once-only principle in data management or the widespread automation of administrative procedures. The Federal Council and the CCG therefore take the view that it is necessary to better coordinate activities across the three levels of government in a new organisation. At the beginning of April 2020, they issued the mandate for the phased creation of this new organisation.

Further development

In the first phase, running until 2022, a political platform is planned as a standard development, without any powers as yet, but with a broad mandate and the right to make proposals. The second phase will see a political platform which will set binding standards in areas such as data management. In the third phase, an authority will be set up, with a broad mandate and associated powers. At the end of each phase, the Federal Council and the Plenary Assembly of the CCG will assess what has been achieved, and decide on the next phase.

Last modification 18.08.2021

Contact

Programme Office eGovernment Switzerland

Schwarztorstrasse 59
3003 Berne

Tel. +41 58 464 79 21

E-mail: info@egovernment.ch

Print contact

More information

https://www.efd.admin.ch/content/efd/en/home/digitalisierung/e-government-schweiz.html

Digitale Verwaltung

Das Wichtigste in Kürze

Bund, Kantone, Gemeinden und Städte verstärken die Zusammenarbeit beim Aufbau und bei der Steuerung der «Digitalen Verwaltung». Der Bundesrat und die Plenarversammlung der Konferenz der Kantonsregierungen (KdK) haben dazu Anfang April 2020 ein umfassendes Projekt beschlossen. Bestehende personelle und finanzielle Ressourcen sollen dabei gebündelt und in einer neuen gemeinsamen Organisation effektiver eingesetzt werden, um den Fortschritt bei der Digitalisierung der Verwaltung zu beschleunigen. Der Bundesrat und die Kantonsregierungen haben am 11. bzw. 25. Juni 2021 der Umsetzung der Digitalen Verwaltung Schweiz gemäss den Grundlagen im Grundsatz zugestimmt. Bis Ende 2021 muss nun noch die neue öffentlich-rechtliche Rahmenvereinbarung vom Bundesrat und den Kantonsregierungen ratifiziert werden, damit die Digitale Verwaltung Schweiz ab Januar 2022 operativ werden kann.


Aktueller Stand

Ende August 2020 haben der Bundesrat und der Leitende Ausschuss der KdK Herrn Peppino Giarritta per 1. März 2021 zum Beauftragten von Bund und Kantonen für die Digitale Verwaltung Schweiz ernannt. Er verantwortet und steuert den Aufbau der DVS und wird die Geschäftsstelle DVS leiten, die administrativ beim GS-EFD angesiedelt ist.

Der Bundesrat hat an seiner Sitzung vom 11. Juni 2021 die Grundlagen zur Umsetzung der Digitalen Verwaltung Schweiz per 1. Januar 2022 zur Kenntnis genommen und der Umsetzung gemäss den vorliegenden Dokumenten im Grundsatz zugestimmt. Um den Aufbau von Infrastrukturen und Basisdiensten für die Abwicklung von elektronischen Prozessen zu beschleunigen, hat der Bundesrat für die Finanzierung der geplanten Agenda «Nationale Infrastrukturen und Basisdienste Digitale Verwaltung Schweiz» zusätzliche Mittel von insgesamt 15 Millionen Franken für die Jahre 2022 und 2023 beschlossen. Die Kantonsregierungen haben an der Plenarversammlung vom 25. Juni 2021 ebenfalls Stellung bezogen zur Digitalen Verwaltung Schweiz. Auch sie stimmen der Umsetzung der DVS gemäss den Grundlagen grundsätzlich zu.

Die vom EFD und von der KdK getragene Projektorganisation wird die Rahmenvereinbarung gemäss den Konsultationsergebnissen bereinigen und im Herbst dem Bundesrat und den Kantonsregierungen zur Verabschiedung unterbreiten.

Grundlagen

Seit 2008 arbeiten Bund, Kantone und Gemeinden zusammen, um die digitale Verwaltung in der Schweiz zu etablieren. Sie haben dafür eine gemeinsame E-Government-Strategie definiert, deren Umsetzung die tripartite Organisation E-Government Schweiz koordiniert. Weitere Organisationen wie die Schweizerische Informatikkonferenz (SIK) oder der Standardisierungsverein eCH fördern den Einsatz der Informations- und Kommunikationstechnik in der Verwaltung. So haben Bund, Kantone und Gemeinden viele Grundlagen und elektronische Behördenleistungen in den vergangenen Jahren aufgebaut.

Harmonisierungsauftrag

Im internationalen Vergleich kommt die Digitalisierung von Diensten und Prozessen der Verwaltung in der Schweiz jedoch eher langsam voran. Zudem stellen sich neue Anforderungen an die Verwaltungstätigkeit, wie das Prinzip Once-Only bei der Datenverwaltung oder eine weitgehende Automatisierung von administrativen Abläufen. Eine stärkere Steuerung der Aktivitäten über die drei Staatsebenen in einer neuen Organisation ist daher aus Sicht des Bundesrates und der KdK nötig. Anfang April 2020 haben sie den Auftrag zum etappenweisen Aufbau dieser neuen Organisation erteilt.

Weitere Entwicklung

Die erste Etappe bis 2022 sieht die Umsetzung einer politischen Plattform mit Standardentwicklung vor, noch ohne Kompetenzen, aber mit einem breiten Mandat und Antragsrecht. Die zweite Etappe beinhaltet eine politische Plattform mit verbindlicher Standardsetzung etwa im Bereich Datenmanagement. Die dritte Etappe setzt eine Behörde voraus, die ein breites Mandat und entsprechende Kompetenzen hat. Nach jeder Etappe erfolgt eine Evaluation des Erreichten durch den Bundesrat und die Plenarversammlung der KdK. Anschliessend wird über die jeweils nächste Etappe entschieden.

Medienkonferenz

Weiterführende Informationen

Letzte Änderung 13.07.2021

Mehr Informationen

https://www.efd.admin.ch/content/efd/de/home/digitalisierung/e-government-schweiz.html