2017 trip to Asia

From 12 to 19 April 2017, Federal Councillor Ueli Maurer travelled with a delegation from the Confederation and Swiss financial centre players to Asia. Various meetings with ministers and authorities, state institutions and financial centre players took place in Beijing, Shanghai, Hong Kong and Singapore. The talks focused on bilateral and multilateral issues, and concrete cooperation at the state and private-sector levels.

Beijing ShanghaiSingaporeHong Kong

Review of Federal Councillor Ueli Maurer's trip to Asia

Federal Councillor Ueli Maurer's trip to Asia with financial centre representatives ended in Hong Kong on 19 April. Following Beijing, Shanghai and Singapore, the opportunity was taken in Hong Kong too to seek talks with authorities and financial centre institutions, and to explore shared interests.

The objectives to promote the financial centre recommended in the October 2016 report of the Federal Council on financial market policy were decisive elements.

With ministries, authorities, institutions, associations and companies in important target markets for the Swiss finance industry:

  • a uniform, coordinated and effective public image was achieved;
  • the strengths of the Swiss financial centre were emphasised;
  • Switzerland's foreign financial policy interests were actively safeguarded;
  • doors were opened in a forward-looking manner for the Swiss financial sector with regard to international business.

Under the leadership of Federal Councillor Maurer and State Secretary Jörg Gasser, over 30 bilateral meetings and several promotional events with stakeholders were held before a broad specialist audience in five Asian cities as part of the schedule for this trip, which was carried out for the first time in this format.

Either the continued willingness to cooperate was reiterated or ideas and impetus for new projects and/or concrete progress were achieved in the following areas. These will be fleshed out in the weeks and months ahead:

  • Regulation
  • Positioning in multilateral bodies
  • Strategic dialogue on financial and economic issues
  • Market access
  • Investment and infrastructure projects (including risk management and analysis)
  • Establishment of Asian banks and cooperation with them
  • Fintech

In the medium term, such trips and similar ones will play a key role as a financial market policy tool for Switzerland.

Switzerland has an embassy in both Singapore and Beijing, a consulate general in both Shanghai and Hong Kong, as well as three Swiss business hubs which also actively support the interests of the Swiss finance industry locally in collaboration with the FDF.

A trip with four stages

Beijing, 12-14 April

Shanghai, 15-16 April

Singapore, 17-18 April

Hong Kong, 19 April

https://www.efd.admin.ch/content/efd/en/home/themen/wirtschaft--waehrung--finanzplatz/finanzmarktpolitik/fokus-finanzplatz/asienreise-2.html

Voyage en Asie 2017

Du 12 au 19 avril 2017, le conseiller fédéral Ueli Maurer s’est rendu en Asie avec une délégation composée de représentants de la Confédération et du secteur financier suisse. À Pékin, Shanghai, Hong Kong et Singapour, diverses rencontres ont eu lieu avec des ministères et des autorités, des institutions publiques et des acteurs du secteur financier. Les entretiens ont porté sur des questions bilatérales et multilatérales, de même que sur la collaboration concrète aux niveaux de l’État et du secteur privé.

Peking ShanghaiSingapurHong Kong

Bilan du voyage en Asie du conseiller fédéral Maurer

Le voyage en Asie du conseiller fédéral Ueli Maurer, accompagné de représentants du secteur financier, a pris fin le 19 avril à Hong Kong. Après Pékin, Shanghai et Singapour, c’est à Hong Kong que la délégation suisse a échangé ses vues et déterminé ses intérêts communs avec des représentants des autorités et des institutions financières locales.

En guise de ligne conductrice, la délégation suisse s’est appuyée sur les objectifs recommandés par le Conseil fédéral dans son rapport d’octobre 2016 concernant la politique de la Confédération en matière de marchés financiers

Étant entendu que les marchés asiatiques constituent une cible importante du secteur financier suisse, ces rencontres avec des représentants de ministères, d’autorités, d’institutions, d’associations et d’entreprises asiatiques sont importantes puisqu’elles auront permis:

  • de présenter les intérêts de la Suisse de façon uniforme, coordonnée et efficace;
  • de mettre l’accent sur les atouts de la place financière suisse;
  • de défendre les intérêts de la Suisse en matière financière;
  • d’ouvrir des portes dont le secteur financier suisse profitera à l’avenir.

C’est la première fois qu’un voyage se déroulait de cette manière. Le programme prévoyait cinq destinations en Asie et plus de 30 rencontres bilatérales conduites par le conseiller fédéral Ueli Maurer et le secrétaire d’État Jörg Gasser, ainsi que plusieurs manifestations de promotion réunissant les principales parties prenantes et les milieux spécialisés.

Ces rencontres et manifestations ont permis soit de renforcer la volonté de travailler ensemble, soit de trouver des approches et de donner des impulsions pour de nouveaux projets et des progrès concrets dans différents domaines. Les résultats seront concrétisés durant les semaines ou les mois à venir:

  • Réglementation
  • Positionnement au sein d’organisations multilatérales
  • Dialogues stratégiques sur des questions financières et économiques
  • Accès au marché
  • Projets d’investissement et d’infrastructure (également analyse et gestion des risques)
  • Implantation de banques asiatiques et coopération
  • Technologies financières

À moyen terme, les voyages de ce genre joueront un rôle important en tant qu’instruments de la politique suisse en matière de marchés financiers.

La Suisse dispose de deux ambassades à Singapour et à Pékin, de deux consulats généraux à Shanghai et à Hong Kong et de trois Swiss Business Hubs, qui soutiennent activement les intérêts du secteur financier suisse en collaboration avec le Département fédéral des finances.

Un voyage en quatre étapes

Pekin, du 12 au 14 avril

Shanghai, du 15 au 16 avril

Singapour, du 17 au 18 avril

Hong Kong, le 19 avril

https://www.efd.admin.ch/content/efd/fr/home/themen/wirtschaft--waehrung--finanzplatz/finanzmarktpolitik/fokus-finanzplatz/asienreise-2.html