Focus on the financial centre

Switzerland has one of the best, most secure and most competitive financial centres in the world thanks to its excellent framework conditions. In order for this to be perceived in the global market, the FDF strives to communicate about the Swiss financial centre, provide information, coordinate the activities of those involved and open doors for the sector with regard to international business. The activities that come under the heading "focus on the financial centre" serve a financial market policy that emphasises the strengths of the Swiss financial centre and actively safeguards Switzerland's interests. To ensure the broadest feasible support, all of the sector's players active in foreign business are included insofar as possible.

Finanzplatz
© Keystone

2018 trip to Israel

BRUM - Netanyahu

The Head of the Federal Department of Finance (FDF) of the Swiss Confederation, Mr Ueli Maurer, and the Minister of Finance of the State of Israel, Mr Moshe Kahlon, met on 16 September 2018 in Jerusalem to discuss various financial and fiscal issues of common interest. Furthermore, Federal Councillor Maurer payed a courtesy visit to Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu. Their meeting was preceded by the second Swiss-Israel Financial Dialogue, where both sides identified areas of joint interest and fostered a commitment for further collaboration across a number of issues, including market access and fintech.


2018 South America trip

Karte_Südamerika-e3-low

From 18 to 20 July 2018, Federal Councillor Ueli Maurer made a working visit to Brazil and Argentina. He was accompanied by the State Secretary for International Financial Matters Jörg Gasser and representatives of the Swiss financial and fintech sectors. In Buenos Aires, the Chairman of the Governing Board of the Swiss National Bank, Thomas Jordan, also took part in the meetings.


2018 trip to Saudi Arabia and United Arab Emirates

Karte_SA-VAE_Final-d

From 17 to 20 February 2018, Federal Councillor Ueli Maurer together with the Swiss financial sector paid a working visit to Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates.


2017 Central Asia Trip

From 8 to 12 July 2017, Federal Councillor Ueli Maurer together with Jörg Gasser, the State Secretary for International Financial Matters, visited three countries in Central Asia. The trip took place in the context of the 25th anniversary of the existence of the Swiss constituency in the Bretton Woods institutions.


2017 trip to Asia

Review of Federal Councillor Ueli Maurer's trip to Asia

Federal Councillor Ueli Maurer's trip to Asia with financial centre representatives ended in Hong Kong on 19 April. In more than 30 discussions, the opportunity was taken to seek talks with authorities and financial centre institutions and explore shared interests.


Meeting of G20 finance ministers in Baden-Baden


Federal Councillor Ueli Maurer took part in the meeting of G20 finance ministers and central bank governors under the German G20 presidency on 17 and 18 March 2017. He was accompanied by Swiss National Bank Chairman Thomas Jordan.

SRF video (only in German)

https://www.efd.admin.ch/content/efd/en/home/themen/wirtschaft--waehrung--finanzplatz/finanzmarktpolitik/fokus-finanzplatz.html

La place financière au centre de l’attention

Avec ses excellentes conditions-cadres, la Suisse dispose d’une place financière qui compte parmi les meilleures, les plus sûres et les plus compétitives du monde. Afin de faire reconnaître à l’échelle mondiale la position de premier plan de notre place financière, le DFF s’occupe de la communication et de l’information dans ce domaine, se charge de coordonner les activités des acteurs concernés et s’attache à faciliter les activités de la branche à l’étranger. Les efforts visant à renforcer la place financière suisse doivent servir une politique des marchés financiers qui mette en évidence les atouts de cette place et défende activement les intérêts de la Suisse. Tous les acteurs de la branche ayant des activités à l’étranger doivent si possible participer au renforcement de la place financière, afin de s’assurer d’un soutien aussi large que possible.

Finanzplatz
© Keystone

Voyage en Israël 2018

BRUM - Netanyahu

Le 16 septembre 2018, le chef du Département fédéral des finances (DFF), Ueli Maurer, et le ministre israélien des finances, Moshe Kahlon, se sont rencontrés à Jérusalem pour s’entretenir de différents thèmes financiers et fiscaux d’intérêt commun. À cette occasion, Ueli Maurer a rendu une visite de courtoisie au premier ministre israélien, Benjamin Netanyahou. Cette rencontre a été précédée de la deuxième réunion du dialogue financier entre la Suisse et Israël, au cours de laquelle les deux parties ont pu identifier des domaines d’intérêt mutuel et renforcer leur engagement à coopérer sur plusieurs questions, dont l’accès au marché et les technologies financières.


Voyage en Amérique du Sud 2018

Karte_Südamerika-f3-low

Du 18 au 20 juillet 2018, le conseiller fédéral Ueli Maurer effectue une visite de travail au Brésil et en Argentine. Il est accompagné du secrétaire d’État aux questions financières internationales, Jörg Gasser, et de représentants du secteur financier suisse et des technologies financières (FinTech). Le président de la direction générale de la Banque nationale suisse, Thomas Jordan, participera en outre aux rencontres qui se tiendront à Buenos Aires.


Voyage 2018 en Arabie saoudite et aux Émirats arabes unis

Karte_SA-VAE_Final-d

Du 17 au 20 février 2018, le conseiller fédéral Ueli Maurer a effectué une visite de travail avec des représentants du secteur financier suisse en Arabie saoudite et aux Émirats arabes unis.


Voyage en Asie centrale 2017

Du 8 au 12 juillet 2017, le conseiller fédéral Ueli Maurer s'est rendu dans trois pays d’Asie centrale en compagnie de Jörg Gasser, secrétaire d’État aux questions financières internationales. Ce voyage avait lieu à l’occasion des 25 ans d’existence du groupe de vote de la Suisse au sein des institutions de Bretton Woods.


Voyage en Asie 2017

Bilan du voyage en Asie du conseiller fédéral Maurer

Le voyage en Asie du conseiller fédéral Ueli Maurer, accompagné de représentants du secteur financier, a pris fin le 19 avril à Hong Kong. Au cours de plus d’une trentaine de discussions, la délégation suisse a échangé ses vues et déterminé ses intérêts communs avec des représentants des autorités et des institutions financières locales.


Réunion des ministres des finances du G20 à Baden-Baden

Les 17 et 18 mars 2017, le conseiller fédéral Ueli Maurer a participé à la réunion sous présidence allemande des ministres des finances et des gouverneurs des banques centrales des États membres du G20. Il était accompagné de Thomas Jordan, président de la direction générale de la Banque nationale suisse.

Vidéo de SRF (en allemand)

https://www.efd.admin.ch/content/efd/fr/home/themen/wirtschaft--waehrung--finanzplatz/finanzmarktpolitik/fokus-finanzplatz.html