Swiss Digital Initiative

The Swiss Digital Initiative is intended to encourage companies worldwide to adopt ethical codes of conduct. As an innovative location known for legal certainty, stability and not least neutrality, Switzerland is predestined to support such an objective.

The Swiss Digital Initiative (SDI) sees itself as a long-term and sustainable process for securing ethical standards in the digital world. In particular, it aims to strengthen confidence in digital technologies and in the players involved in the ongoing digital transformation. Federal Councillor Ueli Maurer is patron of the initiative which was launched by digitalswitzerland.

Swiss Global Digital Summit

The SDI was launched on 2 September 2019 at the first Swiss Global Digital Summit in Geneva. Under the patronage of President Ueli Maurer, the top representatives of globally active companies and Swiss scientists invited discussed an initial position paper on the SDI. The position paper discussed at the summit was prepared in advance by a group of experts from Swiss universities.

On the basis of the discussion results, the SDI was further developed together with other stakeholders from civil society. The SDI was officially launched by decision-makers from business, academia and politics at the WEF 2020 on 21 January 2020.

The SDI is intended to lead to a self-commitment to ethical standards and conduct such as transparency, responsibility, non-discrimination and explanatory power, which are still only partially institutionalised. In addition, it is tasked with developing instruments that make this commitment measurable for users and consumers.

Swiss Digital Initiative Foundation

The SDI is supported by the Swiss Digital Initiative Foundation which is based in Geneva. The purpose of the foundation, which is governed by private law, is to promote ethical standards and conduct in the handling of digital information and technologies at the global level. The foundation carries out its work through its own projects, grants and the financing or co-financing of selected third-party projects.

The Swiss Digital Initiative Foundation is under the patronage of Federal Councillor Ueli Maurer and is chaired by former Federal Councillor Doris Leuthard. Federal Chancellor Walter Thurnherr was elected ad personam to the Foundation Board. On the scientific side, Joël Mesot, President of ETH Zurich, and Yves Flückiger, Rector of the University of Geneva, sit on the Foundation Board. As representatives of the private initiative location digitalswitzerland, Marc Walder, founder of digitalswitzerland, and Ivo Furrer, President of digitalswitzerland, are also members of the Foundation Board. The foundation is fully financed by digitalswitzerland.

Greeting of Federal Councillor Ueli Maurer at the foundation of the Swiss Digital Initiative
Greeting of Federal Councillor Ueli Maurer at the foundation of the Swiss Digital Initiative

Further information

Contact
Last modification 24.01.2020

Top of page

https://www.efd.admin.ch/content/efd/en/home/themen/Digitalisierung/swiss-digital-initiative.html

Swiss Digital Initiative

La Swiss Digital Initiative vise à encourager les entreprises du monde entier à adopter des règles d’éthique. Reconnue pour son innovation, sa sécurité juridique, sa stabilité et, avant tout, sa neutralité, la Suisse est bien placée pour soutenir ce genre d’initiative. 

La Swiss Digital Initiative (SDI) entend s’inscrire dans le long terme afin de garantir le respect de principes éthiques dans le secteur du numérique. Elle a pour objectif particulier d’accroître la confiance du public à l’égard des technologies numériques et des acteurs qui participent à la transformation numérique. Lancée par l’association digitalswitzerland, elle est placée sous le patronage du conseiller fédéral Ueli Maurer.

Swiss Global Digital Summit

La SDI a été créée à Genève le 2 septembre 2019, à l’occasion du premier Swiss Global Digital Summit. En présence du président de la Confédération Ueli Maurer, des patrons d’entreprises actives à l’échelle mondiale et des représentants des milieux scientifiques suisses ont examiné un premier document de référence élaboré en amont par un groupe d’experts d’universités et de hautes écoles suisses.

Sur la base des résultats de cet examen, la SDI a continué de se développer en intégrant des acteurs d’autres domaines, notamment de la société civile. Les décideurs issus des milieux économiques, scientifiques et politiques ont lancé officiellement la SDI le 21 janvier 2020 lors du Forum économique mondial de Davos.

La SDI vise à promouvoir le respect de règles d’éthique telles que la transparence, la responsabilité, la non-discrimination et l’intelligibilité, ces valeurs étant encore peu institutionnalisées. En outre, elle doit servir de cadre au développement des instruments qui permettront aux utilisateurs et aux consommateurs de vérifier la mesure dans laquelle ces règles sont respectées.

Fondation Swiss Digital Initiative

La SDI relève de la fondation Swiss Digital Initiative, qui a son siège à Genève. Organisée selon le droit privé, celle-ci promeut l’instauration de règles d’éthique universelles dans le secteur de l’information et des technologies numériques. En plus de développer elle-même des projets, cette fondation octroie des contributions ou (co)finance des projets de tiers.

Placée sous le patronage du conseiller fédéral Ueli Maurer, la fondation Swiss Digital Initiative est présidée par l’ancienne conseillère fédérale Doris Leuthard. Walter Thurnherr, chancelier de la Confédération, a été élu ad personam au conseil de fondation. Les milieux scientifiques y sont représentés par Joël Mesot, président de l’ETH Zurich, et Yves Flückiger, recteur de l’Université de Genève. L’association privée digitalswitzerland compte également deux membres au conseil de fondation, à savoir Marc Walder, son fondateur, et Ivo Furrer, son président. Elle finance entièrement la fondation Swiss Digital Initiative.

Salutation du conseiller fédéral Ueli Maurer à la fondation d Swiss Digital Initiative
Salutation du conseiller fédéral Ueli Maurer à la fondation d Swiss Digital Initiative

Informations complémentaires

Contact
Dernière modification 24.01.2020

Début de la page

https://www.efd.admin.ch/content/efd/fr/home/themen/Digitalisierung/swiss-digital-initiative.html