Exchange of tax-related information

Brief summary

Tax authorities exchange information, e.g. on financial accounts and advance tax rulings, in order to increase transparency and prevent cross-border tax evasion. The exchange of information in accordance with international standards takes place upon request, spontaneously or automatically.


Exchange of information upon request

The rules on the exchange of tax-related information upon request are set out in bilateral double taxation agreements (DTAs). The corresponding OECD international standard is decisive. Switzerland is prepared to agree on a provision on the exchange of information upon request according to the international standard in all DTAs. Implementation of the exchange of information upon request is reviewed by the Global Forum on Transparency and Exchange of Information for Tax Purposes.

Spontaneous exchange of information

Information is spontaneously exchanged between tax authorities when the transmitting state suspects that information may be of interest to another state. In this context, spontaneous means that no request was submitted beforehand. The first spontaneous exchange of information took place within the framework of the OECD/G20 project on base erosion and profit shifting (BEPS). This concerns advance tax rulings where there is a risk of base erosion or profit sharing. Switzerland has been spontaneously exchanging information on advance tax rulings since 2018.

Automatic exchange of information

As part of the automatic exchange of information, partner states regularly provide each other with information on financial accounts, as well as country reports, for example.

The OECD's global standard for the automatic exchange of financial account information (AEOI) is designed to increase tax transparency and prevent cross-border tax evasion. It makes provision for the mutual exchange of information on financial accounts between states and territories that have agreed among themselves to the AEOI. Aside from Switzerland, over 100 states, including all major financial centres, have undertaken to adopt the standard.

The exchange of country-by-country reports aims to combat base erosion and profit shifting. With the adoption of the corresponding standard, multinationals in Switzerland are obliged to prepare a country-by-country report from the 2018 tax year onwards. Switzerland then exchanges the reports with its partner states.

Further information on the topic can be found on the website of the State Secretariat for International Finance SIF

Further information

Contact
Last modification 11.11.2020

Top of page

https://www.efd.admin.ch/content/efd/en/home/steuern/steuern-international/steuerlicher-informationsaustausch.html

Échange de renseignements en matière fiscale

L'essentiel en bref

Les autorités fiscales échangent des renseignements, par exemple sur des comptes financiers et des décisions anticipées en matière fiscale, afin d'accroître la transparence et de lutter contre la soustraction d'impôt sur le plan international. Selon les normes internationales, l'échange de renseignements a lieu sur demande ou sur une base spontanée ou automatique.


Échange de renseignements sur demande

Les règles relatives à l'échange de renseignements sur demande sont fixées dans les conventions bilatérales contre les doubles impositions (CDI). Elles reposent sur la norme internationale de l'OCDE qui est déterminante en la matière. La Suisse a l'intention de convenir de l'échange de renseignements sur demande selon cette norme dans toutes ses CDI. La mise en œuvre est évaluée par le Forum mondial sur la transparence et l'échange de renseignements à des fins fiscales.

Échange spontané de renseignements

Des renseignements sont échangés de manière spontanée entre des autorités fiscales lorsqu'un État estime que des informations peuvent avoir un intérêt pour un autre État. Dans ce contexte, l'adjectif «spontané» signifie que les autorités n'ont pas besoin de déposer une demande pour recevoir des renseignements. Un premier échange spontané a eu lieu dans le cadre du projet de lutte contre l'érosion de la base d'imposition et le transfert de bénéfices (Base Erosion and Profit Shifting, BEPS) de l'OCDE et du G20. Les échanges portent sur des décisions anticipées en matière fiscale présentant un risque d'érosion de la base d'imposition ou de transfert des bénéfices. La Suisse livre des renseignements sur des décisions anticipées à d'autres États de manière spontanée depuis 2018.

Échange automatique de renseignements

Dans le cadre de l'échange automatique de renseignements, des États partenaires se livrent régulièrement des données portant sur des comptes financiers et des déclarations pays par pays notamment.

La norme internationale de l'OCDE régissant l'échange automatique de renseignements relatifs aux comptes financiers en matière fiscale (EAR) vise à améliorer la transparence fiscale et à lutter contre la soustraction d'impôt sur le plan international. Elle prévoit que les États et territoires qui ont convenu d'introduire l'EAR s'échangent des renseignements sur des comptes financiers. Outre la Suisse, plus de 100 États, parmi lesquels tous les principaux centres financiers, se sont engagés à reprendre cette norme.

L'échange de déclarations pays par pays vise à lutter contre l'érosion de la base d'imposition et le transfert de bénéfices. L'introduction de la norme applicable en la matière signifie pour les entreprises multinationales basées en Suisse qu'elles doivent établir une déclaration pays par pays à compter de l'année fiscale 2018. La Suisse échange ensuite les déclarations avec ses États partenaires.

De plus amples informations sur ce sujet sont disponibles sur le site Internet du Secrétariat d'État aux questions financières internationales (SFI):

Informations complémentaires

Contact
Dernière modification 11.11.2020

Début de la page

https://www.efd.admin.ch/content/efd/fr/home/steuern/steuern-international/steuerlicher-informationsaustausch.html