Sustainability in the financial sector

Brief summary

Eco-sustainability in the financial sector is becoming increasingly important both nationally and internationally, which is a great opportunity for the Swiss financial centre. The state plays the role of mediator, conducts intensive dialogue with the sector and interested parties, and advocates an optimal regulatory framework.


The Federal Council adopted a report and guidelines on sustainability in the financial sector in June 2020. The aim is to make Switzerland a leading location for sustainable financial services. In order to achieve this, the Federal Council wants to shape the framework conditions in such a way that the competitiveness of Switzerland's financial centre is improved and, at the same time, the financial sector can make an effective contribution to sustainability.

In March 2020, Switzerland also joined the International Platform on Sustainable Finance (IPSF). This multilateral forum's aims are closer international coordination and a more in-depth exchange on environmentally sustainable finance.

Further information on the topic can be found on the website of the State Secretariat for International Finance SIF:

Press conference - 26.06.2020

Further information

Last modification 12.01.2021

https://www.efd.admin.ch/content/efd/en/home/finanzplatz/sustainable-finance.html

Finance durable

L’essentiel en bref

La finance durable gagne en importance, tant au niveau national qu’international. Ce développement constitue une chance pour la place financière suisse. Dans ce contexte, l’État joue avant tout un rôle de médiateur, mène un dialogue nourri avec la branche ainsi que les milieux intéressés, et s’engage en faveur de la mise en place d’un cadre réglementaire optimal.


En juin 2020, le Conseil fédéral a adopté un rapport et des lignes directrices sur le développement durable dans le secteur financier. L’objectif est de faire de la Suisse l’un des principaux centres mondiaux de services financiers durables. À cet effet, le Conseil fédéral entend aménager les conditions-cadres de manière à améliorer la compétitivité de la place financière suisse et à permettre au secteur financier d’apporter une contribution efficace au développement durable.

En mars 2020, la Suisse est en outre devenue membre de la plateforme internationale sur la finance durable (International Platform on Sustainable Finance, IPSF). Ce forum multilatéral vise à renforcer la coordination internationale et les échanges en matière de finance écologiquement durable.

De plus amples informations sur ce sujet sont disponibles sur le site Internet du Secrétariat d’État aux questions financières internationales (SFI):

Conférence de presse du 26.06.2020

Informations complémentaires

Dernière modification 09.11.2020

https://www.efd.admin.ch/content/efd/fr/home/finanzplatz/sustainable-finance.html