2018 South America trip

From 18 to 20 July 2018, Federal Councillor Ueli Maurer made a working visit to Brazil and Argentina. He was accompanied by the State Secretary for International Financial Matters Jörg Gasser and representatives of the Swiss financial and fintech sectors. In Buenos Aires, the Chairman of the Governing Board of the Swiss National Bank, Thomas Jordan, also took part in the meetings. The talks focused on the current bilateral dossiers on financial and tax issues and the bilateral cooperation in the area of financial services.

Karte_Südamerika-e3-lowSâo PauloBuenos AiresBrasilia

The Head of the Federal Department of Finance (FDF), Federal Councillor Ueli Maurer, had discussions with his counterparts in Brazil and Argentina, both countries are members of the G20. In addition, he met the two central bank governors, representatives of the supervisory authorities, as well as private-sector players.

In Brazil, Switzerland's most important partner state in South America, above all opportunities and risks in the investment sector were addressed and market access issues discussed. The application of the bilateral double taxation agreements (DTA) which was signed in May, was also broached. Morevoer, the Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority (FINMA) and the Comissao de Valores Mobiliares signed a memorandum of understanding in the fintech area on the spot.

In Argentina, the visit allowed a financial and regulatory dialogue to be conducted with the responsible authorities. The focus of these talks was Argentina's comprehensive economic reforms which are being supported by an International Monetary Fund (IMF) credit programme of nearly USD 50 billion. The exchange with state and private-sector players in Brazil and Argentina took place in the context of Switzerland's financial market policy for a competitive Swiss financial centre. This also includes opening doors for the private sector overseas. The delegation also had the opportunity to outline the favourable framework conditions for the financial sector and fintech companies in Switzerland. The delegation correspondingly included about a dozen financial and fintech sector representatives.

Following the working visits to Brazil and Argentina, on 20 July 2018, Federal Councillor Ueli Maurer participated in the meeting of the G20 finance ministers in Buenos Aires. On the fringes of this meeting in Buenos Aires, a bilateral exchange was envisaged with the Chilean finance minister accompanied by the delegation of financial sector representatives to complete the perspective of the South American financial centres. Further purely bilateral meetings of Federal Councillor Maurer with G20 counterparts were anticipated.

A trip with three stages

São Paulo

Brasilia

Buenos Aires

Further information

Contact
Last modification 23.07.2018

Top of page

https://www.efd.admin.ch/content/efd/en/home/themen/wirtschaft--waehrung--finanzplatz/finanzmarktpolitik/fokus-finanzplatz/suedamerika-reise-2018.html

Südamerikareise 2018

Bundesrat Ueli Maurer stattete Brasilien und Argentinien vom 18. bis 20. Juli 2018 einen Arbeitsbesuch ab. Er wurde vom Staatssekretär für internationale Finanzfragen Jörg Gasser sowie Vertretern der Schweizer Finanz- und Fintechbranche begleitet. In Buenos Aires nahm zudem der Präsident des Direktoriums der Schweizerischen Nationalbank, Thomas Jordan, an den Treffen teil. Gegenstand der Gespräche waren die aktuellen bilateralen Dossiers im Finanz- und Steuerbereich sowie die bilaterale Zusammenarbeit im Bereich der Finanzdienstleistungen.

Karte Südamerikareise 2018Sâo PauloBuenos AiresBrasilia

Der Vorsteher des Eidgenössischen Finanzdepartements (EFD), Bundesrat Ueli Maurer, tauschte sich in Brasilien und Argentinien – beide Länder sind Mitglieder der G20 – mit seinen Amtskollegen aus. Er traf zudem Gouverneure der beiden Zentralbanken, Vertreter der Aufsichtsbehörden sowie Akteure des privaten Sektors.

In Brasilien, dem wichtigsten Partnerstaat der Schweiz in Südamerika, ging es vor allem darum, Chancen und Risiken im Investitionsbereich zu erörtern und Marktzugangsfragen zu besprechen. Die Anwendung des bilateralen Doppelbesteuerungsabkommens (DBA), das im Mai unterzeichnet wurde, wurde auch thematisiert. Zudem haben die Eidgenössische Finanzmarktaufsicht (FINMA) und der Comissao de Valores Mobiliares vor Ort eine Zusammenarbeitsvereinbarung (Memorandum of Understanding) im Fintech-Bereich unterzeichnet.

In Argentinien ermöglichte es der Besuch, einen Finanz- und regulatorischen Dialog mit den zuständigen Behörden zu führen. Im Fokus dieser Gespräche standen die umfassenden wirtschaftlichen Reformen Argentiniens, welche durch ein Kreditprogramm des Internationalen Währungsfonds (IWF) von bis zu 50 Milliarden US-Dollar unterstützt werden. Der Austausch mit staatlichen und privaten Akteuren in Brasilien und Argentinien fand im Rahmen der Finanzmarktpolitik der Schweiz für einen wettbewerbsfähigen Schweizer Finanzplatz statt. Dazu gehörte auch die Türöffnung für die Privatbranche im Ausland. Die Delegation hatte auch die Möglichkeit, die vorteilhaften Rahmenbedingungen für die Finanzbranche und Fintech-Unternehmen in der Schweiz zu erläutern. Der Delegation gehörten entsprechend rund ein Dutzend Vertreter der Finanz- und Fintechbranche an.

Im Anschluss an die Arbeitsbesuche in Brasilien und Argentinien nahm Bundesrat Ueli Maurer am 20. Juli 2018 in Buenos Aires am Treffen der G20-Finanzminister teil. Am Rande dieses Treffens in Buenos Aires fand auch ein bilateraler Austausch mit dem chilenischen Finanzminister in Begleitung der Delegation der Vertreter der Finanzbranche statt, um die Perspektive auf die südamerikanischen Finanzplätze zu komplettieren. Weitere bilaterale Treffen von Bundesrat Maurer mit G20-Amtskollegen standen auf dem Programm.

Eine Reise in drei Etappen

São Paulo

Brasilia

Buenos Aires

Weiterführende Informationen

Kontakt
Letzte Änderung 03.10.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.efd.admin.ch/content/efd/de/home/themen/wirtschaft--waehrung--finanzplatz/finanzmarktpolitik/fokus-finanzplatz/suedamerika-reise-2018.html