2018 trip to Saudi Arabia and United Arab Emirates

From 17 to 20 February 2018, Federal Councillor Ueli Maurer together with the Swiss financial sector paid a working visit to Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates. Mr Maurer was accompanied by the State Secretary for International Financial Matters Jörg Gasser. This second trip with representatives of the Swiss financial sector in the context of financial market policy focussed on talks on cooperation in financial and tax matters.

Karte_SA-VAE_Final-dRiadAbu DhabiDubai

The Head of the Federal Department of Finance (FDF) met his counterparts in Riyadh and Abu Dhabi. Other meetings took place with representatives of the supervisory authorities and central banks, as well as private-sector players. These talks dealt with enhancing dialogue and cooperation in financial and tax matters with two important partner states of Switzerland in the Gulf region and bilateral and multilateral concerns regarding financial matters and concrete cooperation. Here in particular, the optimum framework for investments and financial services were broached, as were Swiss financial institutions' roles and opportunities locally and the implementation of global standards in financial matters.

On 18 February 2018 in Riyadh, Federal Councillor Ueli Maurer signed a double taxation agreement with Saudi Arabia. The visit to Saudi Arabia also made it possible to pave the way for financial dialogue between the two states. In the United Arab Emirates, the visit likewise served to intensify bilateral cooperation in financial and tax matters.

The exchange with state and private-sector players in both states took place in the context of Switzerland's financial market policy for a competitive Swiss financial centre. Both states are important target markets for Swiss financial service providers outside Europe. Swiss financial institutions have a strong presence in these markets. To improve the framework conditions, it is desirable to achieve a public image that is as consistent and effective as possible together with the sector. The delegation consisted of about a dozen Swiss financial institutions which are active in these markets.

A trip with three stages

Riyadh: 17-19 february 2018

Abu Dhabi: 19 february 2018

Dubai: 19-20 february 2018

Contact
Last modification 20.02.2018

Top of page

https://www.efd.admin.ch/content/efd/en/home/themen/wirtschaft--waehrung--finanzplatz/finanzmarktpolitik/fokus-finanzplatz/saudiarabien-und-vae.html

Reise nach Saudi-Arabien und in die Vereinigten Arabischen Emirate 2018

Bundesrat Ueli Maurer stattete Saudi-Arabien und den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten vom 17. bis 20. Februar 2018 zusammen mit der Schweizer Finanzbranche einen Arbeitsbesuch ab. Begleitet wurde er dabei vom Staatssekretär für internationale Finanzfragen Jörg Gasser. Im Zentrum dieser zweiten Reise mit Vertretern der Schweizer Finanzbranche im Rahmen der Finanzmarktpolitik standen Gespräche über die Zusammenarbeit in Finanz- und Steuerfragen.

Karte_SA-VAE_Final-dRiadAbu DhabiDubai

In Riad und Abu Dhabi traf der Vorsteher des Eidgenössischen Finanzdepartements (EFD) seine Amtskollegen. Weitere Treffen fanden mit Vertretern der Aufsichtsbehörden und der Zentralbanken sowie mit Akteuren des privaten Sektors statt. Bei diesen Gesprächen ging es darum, den Dialog und die Zusammenarbeit in Finanz- und Steuerfragen mit zwei wichtigen Partnerstaaten der Schweiz in der Golfregion zu verstärken und die bilateralen und multilateralen Anliegen im Finanzbereich sowie die konkrete Zusammenarbeit zu besprechen. Dabei wurden insbesondere die optimalen Rahmenbedingungen für Investitionen und Finanzdienstleistungen, die Rolle und Möglichkeiten der Schweizer Finanzinstitute vor Ort sowie die Umsetzung globaler Standards in Finanzfragen thematisiert.

Am 18. Februar 2018 hat Bundesrat Ueli Maurer in Riad ein Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen mit Saudi-Arabien unterzeichnet. Der Besuch in Saudi-Arabien ermöglichte zudem, einen Finanzdialog zwischen den beiden Staaten anzubahnen. In den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten diente der Besuch ebenfalls der Vertiefung der bilateralen Zusammenarbeit in Finanz- und Steuerfragen.

Der Austausch mit staatlichen und privaten Akteuren fand in beiden Staaten im Rahmen der Finanzmarktpolitik der Schweiz für einen wettbewerbsfähigen Schweizer Finanzplatz statt. Beide Staaten gehören zu den bedeutenden Zielmärkten der Schweizer Finanzdienstleister ausserhalb Europas. Die Schweizer Finanzinstitute sind auf diesen Märkten stark präsent. Zur Verbesserung der Rahmenbedingungen ist ein möglichst einheitlicher und wirkungsvoller Aussenauftritt zusammen mit der Branche wünschbar. Die Delegation bestand aus etwa einem Dutzend Schweizer Finanzinstituten, die auf diesen Märkten tätig sind.

Eine Reise in drei Etappen

Riad: 17. - 19. Februar 2018

Abu Dhabi: 19. Februar 2018

Dubai: 19. - 20. Februar 2018

Kontakt
Letzte Änderung 20.02.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.efd.admin.ch/content/efd/de/home/themen/wirtschaft--waehrung--finanzplatz/finanzmarktpolitik/fokus-finanzplatz/saudiarabien-und-vae.html