2018 trip to Israel

Switzerland and Israel continue their cooperation in financial matters

BRUM - Netanyahu

The Head of the Federal Department of Finance (FDF) of the Swiss Confederation, Mr Ueli Maurer, and the Minister of Finance of the State of Israel, Mr Moshe Kahlon, met on 16 September 2018 in Jerusalem to discuss various financial and fiscal issues of common interest. Furthermore, Federal Councillor Maurer payed a courtesy visit to Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu. Their meeting was preceded by the second Swiss-Israel Financial Dialogue, where both sides identified areas of joint interest and fostered a commitment for further collaboration across a number of issues, including market access and fintech.

Federal Councillor Ueli Maurer led a delegation, which included representatives of the Swiss authorities as well as senior representatives from the banking sector and Fintech sector, who actively participated in the financial dialogue and met with the Israeli Minister of Finance.

Today’s discussions between the two Finance ministers are a follow-up to their meeting on 4 September 2017 in Tel Aviv. On that occasion, Mr Maurer and Mr Kahlon signed a memorandum of understanding (MoU) to promote cooperation in financial services and to this end to establish a regular financial dialogue between their respective ministries. The Finance ministers subsequently met on 17 April 2018 in Zurich and reiterated their commitment to deepen their cooperation in financial matters. 

On 16 September 2018, the State Secretary for International Financial Matters, Mr Jörg Gasser, and the Deputy Minister of Finance, Mr Yitzhak Cohen, met for a further round of the financial dialogue launched last year. The two delegations exchanged views on issues related to market access with respect to the provision of cross-border financial services. Fintech regulation and cryptocurrency as well as combating money laundering and terrorist financing were also among the topics of discussion.  

As part of the visit, the Swiss delegation attended a workshop organized by the Embassy which gave them an overview of the Israeli blockchain sector. Further, an event dedicated to cyber security focused on new threats as well as possible solutions currently being developed in relation to cyber threats in the field of blockchain technologies. Both events enabled the parties to foster a dialogue regarding potential collaboration between the Swiss and the Israeli ecosystems.

Contact
Last modification 17.09.2018

Top of page

https://www.efd.admin.ch/content/efd/en/home/themen/wirtschaft--waehrung--finanzplatz/finanzmarktpolitik/fokus-finanzplatz/reise-nach-israel.html

Reise nach Israel 2018

Schweiz und Israel führen Zusammenarbeit in Finanzfragen fort

BRUM - Netanyahu

Der Vorsteher des Eidgenössischen Finanzdepartements (EFD) Ueli Maurer und Israels Finanzminister Moshe Kahlon haben sich am 16. September 2018 in Jerusalem zum Austausch über Finanz- und Steuerthemen von gemeinsamem Interesse getroffen. Ferner hat Bundesrat Maurer Premierminister Benjamin Netanyahu zu einem Höflichkeitsbesuch getroffen. Gleichentags wurden zuvor an der zweiten Runde des Finanzdialogs Schweiz-Israel Bereiche von gegenseitigem Interesse identifiziert und das Engagement zur weiteren Zusammenarbeit in verschiedenen Fragen einschliesslich Marktzugang und Fintech gestärkt.

Bundesrat Ueli Maurer führte zum Treffen mit dem israelischen Finanzminister eine Delegation mit Schweizer Behördenvertretern sowie hochrangigen Vertretern des Banken- und Fintechsektors an, die aktiv am Finanzdialog teilnahmen.

Die Gespräche erfolgten im Nachgang zum Treffen vom 4. September 2017 in Tel Aviv. An diesem Treffen hatten die beiden Finanzminister ein Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) zur Intensivierung der Zusammenarbeit im Finanzbereich unterzeichnet und einen regelmässigen Finanzdialog zwischen ihren Ministerien vereinbart. Am Treffen vom 17. April 2018 in Zürich bekräftigten sie ihren Willen, die Zusammenarbeit in Finanzfragen zu vertiefen.

Am 16. September 2018 trafen sich der Staatssekretär für internationale Finanzfragen Jörg Gasser und der stellvertretende Finanzminister Yitzhak Cohen zu einer weiteren Runde des im vergangenen Jahr lancierten Finanzdialogs. Die beiden Delegationen tauschten sich zu Fragen des Marktzugangs für die Erbringung grenzüberschreitender Finanzdienstleistungen aus. Die Fintechregulierung, Kryptowährungen und die Bekämpfung der Geldwäscherei und der Terrorismusfinanzierung waren weitere Themen, die zur Sprache kamen.

Zum Besuch gehörte auch die Teilnahme der Schweizer Delegation an einem von der Botschaft organisierten Workshop, der einen Überblick über den israelischen Blockchainsektor bot. Eine weitere Veranstaltung befasste sich mit Cybersicherheit und den Lösungen, die derzeit im Hinblick auf die Cyberbedrohungen im Zusammenhang mit der Blockchaintechnologie entwickelt werden. Beide Anlässe boten Gelegenheit, den Dialog über eine mögliche Zusammenarbeit zwischen den jeweiligen Ökosystemen der Schweiz und Israels zu fördern.

Kontakt
Letzte Änderung 12.03.2019

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.efd.admin.ch/content/efd/de/home/themen/wirtschaft--waehrung--finanzplatz/finanzmarktpolitik/fokus-finanzplatz/reise-nach-israel.html