2017 trip to Asia

From 12 to 19 April 2017, Federal Councillor Ueli Maurer travelled with a delegation from the Confederation and Swiss financial centre players to Asia. Various meetings with ministers and authorities, state institutions and financial centre players took place in Beijing, Shanghai, Hong Kong and Singapore. The talks focused on bilateral and multilateral issues, and concrete cooperation at the state and private-sector levels.

Beijing ShanghaiSingaporeHong Kong

Review of Federal Councillor Ueli Maurer's trip to Asia

Federal Councillor Ueli Maurer's trip to Asia with financial centre representatives ended in Hong Kong on 19 April. Following Beijing, Shanghai and Singapore, the opportunity was taken in Hong Kong too to seek talks with authorities and financial centre institutions, and to explore shared interests.

The objectives to promote the financial centre recommended in the October 2016 report of the Federal Council on financial market policy were decisive elements.

With ministries, authorities, institutions, associations and companies in important target markets for the Swiss finance industry:

  • a uniform, coordinated and effective public image was achieved;
  • the strengths of the Swiss financial centre were emphasised;
  • Switzerland's foreign financial policy interests were actively safeguarded;
  • doors were opened in a forward-looking manner for the Swiss financial sector with regard to international business.

Under the leadership of Federal Councillor Maurer and State Secretary Jörg Gasser, over 30 bilateral meetings and several promotional events with stakeholders were held before a broad specialist audience in five Asian cities as part of the schedule for this trip, which was carried out for the first time in this format.

Either the continued willingness to cooperate was reiterated or ideas and impetus for new projects and/or concrete progress were achieved in the following areas. These will be fleshed out in the weeks and months ahead:

  • Regulation
  • Positioning in multilateral bodies
  • Strategic dialogue on financial and economic issues
  • Market access
  • Investment and infrastructure projects (including risk management and analysis)
  • Establishment of Asian banks and cooperation with them
  • Fintech

In the medium term, such trips and similar ones will play a key role as a financial market policy tool for Switzerland.

Switzerland has an embassy in both Singapore and Beijing, a consulate general in both Shanghai and Hong Kong, as well as three Swiss business hubs which also actively support the interests of the Swiss finance industry locally in collaboration with the FDF.

A trip with four stages

Beijing, 12-14 April

Shanghai, 15-16 April

Singapore, 17-18 April

Hong Kong, 19 April

https://www.efd.admin.ch/content/efd/en/home/themen/wirtschaft--waehrung--finanzplatz/finanzmarktpolitik/fokus-finanzplatz/asienreise-2.html

Asienreise 2017

Bundesrat Ueli Maurer reiste vom 12. bis 19. April 2017 zusammen mit einer Delegation des Bundes und Schweizer Finanzplatzakteuren nach Asien. In Peking, Shanghai, Hong Kong und Singapur fanden diverse Treffen mit Ministern und Behörden, staatlichen Institutionen sowie Akteuren der Finanzbranche statt. Gegenstand der Gespräche waren bilaterale und multilaterale Anliegen sowie die konkrete Zusammenarbeit auf staatlicher wie privatwirtschaftlicher Ebene.

Peking ShanghaiSingapurHong Kong

Bilanz Asienreise Bundesrat Ueli Maurer

Am 19. April ging die Asienreise von Bundesrat Ueli Maurer mit der Finanzbranche in Hong Kong zu Ende. Nach Peking, Shanghai und Singapur wurde auch in Hong Kong die Gelegenheit genutzt, um mit Behörden und Finanzplatzinstitutionen das Gespräch zu suchen und gemeinsame Interessen auszuloten.

Die im Bericht des Bundesrates zur Finanzmarktpolitik vom Oktober 2016 zur Finanzplatzpromotion empfohlenen Ziele waren dabei massgebend.

Gegenüber Ministerien, Behörden, Institutionen, Verbänden und Unternehmen in wichtigen Zielmärkten der Schweizer Finanzindustrie:

  • fand ein einheitlicher, koordinierter und wirkungsvoller Aussenauftritt statt;
  • wurden die Stärken des Finanzstandortes Schweiz unterstrichen;
  • wurden die finanzaussenpolitischen Interessen der Schweiz aktiv gewahrt;
  • erfolgte die zukunftsorientierte Türöffnung für die Schweizer Finanzbranche im Auslandgeschäft.

Im Rahmen des Programms dieser erstmalig in diesem Format durchgeführten Reise fanden unter Leitung von Bundesrat Maurer und Staatssekretär Jörg Gasser an fünf Destinationen in Asien über 30 bilaterale Treffen und mehrere Promotionsanlässe mit Stakeholders vor breitem Fachpublikum statt.

In folgenden Bereichen haben sich entweder eine Bekräftigung im weiteren Willen zur Zusammenarbeit oder Ansätze und Impulse für neue Projekte und/oder konkrete Fortschritte ergeben. Diese werden in den kommenden Wochen und Monaten konkretisiert:

  • Regulierung
  • Positionsfindung in multilateralen Gremien
  • strategische Dialoge zu Finanz- und Wirtschaftsfragen
  • Marktzutritt
  • Investitions- und Infrastrukturprojekte (auch Risikomanagement und –analyse)
  • Ansiedlung von und Kooperation mit asiatischen Banken
  • Fintech

In der mittleren Frist werden solche und ähnliche Reisen als Instrument der Schweizer Finanzmarktpolitik eine wichtige Rolle spielen.

Die Schweiz verfügt in Singapur und Peking über zwei Botschaften und in Shanghai und Hong Kong je über ein Generalkonsulat, welche mit drei Swiss Business Hubs auch die Interessen der Schweizer Finanzindustrie in Zusammenarbeit mit dem EFD aktiv vor Ort unterstützen.

Eine Reise in vier Etappen

Peking: 12. - 14. April

Shanghai: 15. - 16. April

Singapur: 17. - 18. April

Hong Kong: 19. April

https://www.efd.admin.ch/content/efd/de/home/themen/wirtschaft--waehrung--finanzplatz/finanzmarktpolitik/fokus-finanzplatz/asienreise-2.html