Focus on the financial centre

Switzerland has one of the best, most secure and most competitive financial centres in the world thanks to its excellent framework conditions. In order for this to be perceived in the global market, the FDF strives to communicate about the Swiss financial centre, provide information, coordinate the activities of those involved and open doors for the sector with regard to international business. The activities that come under the heading "focus on the financial centre" serve a financial market policy that emphasises the strengths of the Swiss financial centre and actively safeguards Switzerland's interests. To ensure the broadest feasible support, all of the sector's players active in foreign business are included insofar as possible.

Finanzplatz
© Keystone

2018 trip to Israel

BRUM - Netanyahu

The Head of the Federal Department of Finance (FDF) of the Swiss Confederation, Mr Ueli Maurer, and the Minister of Finance of the State of Israel, Mr Moshe Kahlon, met on 16 September 2018 in Jerusalem to discuss various financial and fiscal issues of common interest. Furthermore, Federal Councillor Maurer payed a courtesy visit to Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu. Their meeting was preceded by the second Swiss-Israel Financial Dialogue, where both sides identified areas of joint interest and fostered a commitment for further collaboration across a number of issues, including market access and fintech.


2018 South America trip

Karte_Südamerika-e3-low

From 18 to 20 July 2018, Federal Councillor Ueli Maurer made a working visit to Brazil and Argentina. He was accompanied by the State Secretary for International Financial Matters Jörg Gasser and representatives of the Swiss financial and fintech sectors. In Buenos Aires, the Chairman of the Governing Board of the Swiss National Bank, Thomas Jordan, also took part in the meetings.


2018 trip to Saudi Arabia and United Arab Emirates

Karte_SA-VAE_Final-d

From 17 to 20 February 2018, Federal Councillor Ueli Maurer together with the Swiss financial sector paid a working visit to Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates.


2017 Central Asia Trip

From 8 to 12 July 2017, Federal Councillor Ueli Maurer together with Jörg Gasser, the State Secretary for International Financial Matters, visited three countries in Central Asia. The trip took place in the context of the 25th anniversary of the existence of the Swiss constituency in the Bretton Woods institutions.


2017 trip to Asia

Review of Federal Councillor Ueli Maurer's trip to Asia

Federal Councillor Ueli Maurer's trip to Asia with financial centre representatives ended in Hong Kong on 19 April. In more than 30 discussions, the opportunity was taken to seek talks with authorities and financial centre institutions and explore shared interests.


Meeting of G20 finance ministers in Baden-Baden


Federal Councillor Ueli Maurer took part in the meeting of G20 finance ministers and central bank governors under the German G20 presidency on 17 and 18 March 2017. He was accompanied by Swiss National Bank Chairman Thomas Jordan.

SRF video (only in German)

https://www.efd.admin.ch/content/efd/en/home/themen/wirtschaft--waehrung--finanzplatz/finanzmarktpolitik/fokus-finanzplatz.html

Fokus Finanzplatz

Die Schweiz verfügt mit ihren ausgezeichneten Rahmenbedingungen über einen der weltweit besten, sichersten und wettbewerbsfähigsten Finanzplätze. Damit dies im globalen Markt wahrgenommen wird, ist das EFD bestrebt, über den Finanzplatz Schweiz zu kommunizieren, Informationen bereitzustellen, die Aktivitäten beteiligter Akteure zu koordinieren sowie der Branche im Auslandgeschäft die Türe zu öffnen. Die Tätigkeiten unter dem Oberbegriff „Fokus Finanzplatz“ stehen im Dienst einer Finanzmarktpolitik, welche die Stärken des Finanzstandortes Schweiz unterstreicht sowie die Interessen der Schweiz aktiv wahrt. Damit eine breitmöglichste Abstützung gewährleistet werden kann, werden möglichst alle Akteure der Branche, die im Auslandgeschäft tätig sind, einbezogen.

Finanzplatz
© Keystone

Reise nach Israel 2018

BRUM - Netanyahu

Der Vorsteher des Eidgenössischen Finanzdepartements (EFD) Ueli Maurer und Israels Finanzminister Moshe Kahlon haben sich am 16. September 2018 in Jerusalem zum Austausch über Finanz- und Steuerthemen von gemeinsamem Interesse getroffen. Ferner hat Bundesrat Maurer Premierminister Benjamin Netanyahu zu einem Höflichkeitsbesuch getroffen. Gleichentags wurden zuvor an der zweiten Runde des Finanzdialogs Schweiz-Israel Bereiche von gegenseitigem Interesse identifiziert und das Engagement zur weiteren Zusammenarbeit in verschiedenen Fragen einschliesslich Marktzugang und Fintech gestärkt.


Südamerikareise 2018

Karte Südamerikareise 2018

Bundesrat Ueli Maurer stattete Brasilien und Argentinien vom 18. bis 20. Juli 2018 einen Arbeitsbesuch ab. Er wurde vom Staatssekretär für internationale Finanzfragen Jörg Gasser sowie Vertretern der Schweizer Finanz- und Fintechbranche begleitet. In Buenos Aires nahm zudem der Präsident des Direktoriums der Schweizerischen Nationalbank, Thomas Jordan, an den Treffen teil.  


Reise nach Saudi-Arabien und in die Vereinigten Arabischen Emirate 2018

Karte_SA-VAE_Final-d

Bundesrat Ueli Maurer stattete Saudi-Arabien und den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten vom 17. bis 20. Februar 2018 zusammen mit der Schweizer Finanzbranche einen Arbeitsbesuch ab.


Zentralasienreise 2017

Bundesrat Ueli Maurer besuchte vom 8. bis 12. Juli 2017 zusammen mit Jörg Gasser, Staatssekretär für internationale Finanzfragen, drei Länder Zentralasiens. Die Reise fand im Rahmen des 25-jährigen Bestehens der schweizerischen Stimmrechtsgruppe in den Bretton-Woods-Institutionen statt.


Asienreise 2017

Bilanz zur Asienreise von Bundesrat Ueli Maurer

Am 19. April ging die Asienreise von Bundesrat Ueli Maurer mit der Finanzbranche in Hongkong zu Ende. In über 30 Gesprächen wurde die Gelegenheit genutzt, um mit Behörden und Finanzplatzinstitutionen das Gespräch zu suchen und gemeinsame Interessen auszuloten.


G20-Finanzministertreffen Baden Baden

Am 17. und 18. März 2017 hat Bundesrat Ueli Maurer am Treffen der G20-Finanzminister und -Notenbankgouverneure unter deutscher G20-Präsidentschaft teilgenommen. Begleitet wurde er von Nationalbankpräsident Thomas Jordan.

https://www.efd.admin.ch/content/efd/de/home/themen/wirtschaft--waehrung--finanzplatz/finanzmarktpolitik/fokus-finanzplatz.html