FinSA and FinIA

Status as at January 2019

Brief summary

The Federal Council adopted the dispatch on the Financial Services Act (FinSA) and on the Financial Institutions Act (FinIA) at the start of November 2015. The FinSA and FinIA will create uniform competitive conditions for financial intermediaries and improve client protection. The FinSA contains code of conduct provisions with which financial service providers must comply vis-à-vis their clients. It also makes provision for prospectus duties and requires an easily understandable key information document for financial instruments. The FinIA essentially harmonises the authorisation rules for financial service providers. Parliament adopted both bills in the final votes on 15 June 2018.


Deficiencies of current law

Significant shortcomings exist under current financial services law in the area of code of conduct and product regulations. Frequently, clients are not informed about financial service providers and their services, for instance. Moreover, there is no general duty to enquire about clients' knowledge and experience. The prospectus duties for financial products are patchy and dispersed in various legislative instruments. Prospectuses are often too detailed and insufficiently clear for clients, and concise product documentation that is easy to understand rarely exists. Furthermore, the options for clients to assert their rights are effectively severely restricted. In particular, there are high cost risks.

The various financial service providers are subject to different degrees of regulation and supervision. In particular, some in the asset management business are subject to prudential supervision (banks, securities dealers, fund management companies and asset managers of collective investment schemes), while other financial service providers are not subject to supervision (independent asset managers).

These deficiencies in current law lead to insufficient client protection and unequal competitive conditions.

FinSA

The FinSA and FinIA are part of the new financial market architecture, which covers four areas: (1) supervision (already governed by the Financial Market Supervision Act, FINMASA); (2) infrastructure (in the Financial Market Infrastructure Act, FinMIA); (3) services (FinSA); and (4) supervised entities (FinIA).

The FinSA sets out cross-sector rules for offering financial services and distributing financial instruments. In terms of content, the rules are based on the EU directives (MiFID II, Prospectus Directive, PRIIPs), with adjustments made to reflect the specific Swiss circumstances

Financial service providers are required by law to give clients appropriate explanations and advice. The two main client segments are retail clients and professional clients. Uniform rules are provided for with regard to the prospectus duty, with simplifications envisaged for SMEs. A key information document (KID) is now to be supplied for financial instruments offered to retail clients. The KID should enable clients to make informed investment decisions and genuinely compare various financial instruments in a simple and understandable way.

Provision is not made for the following instruments, which were highly controversial during the consultation: reversal of the burden of proof, the procedural costs fund and an arbitration court. Instead, ombudsmen will be strengthened. All financial service providers will now have to affiliate to an existing or newly created ombudsman.

FinIA

A differentiated supervisory regime for portfolio managers, managers of collective assets, fund management companies and securities firms will be introduced with the FinIA. Well-established provisions of existing law have been taken over and merged, with some changes being made.

The main change concerns the prudential supervision of managers of individual client assets, managers of the assets of occupational benefits schemes and trustees. Not all financial institutions will be supervised by FINMA in the process. The prudential supervision of managers of individual client assets and trustees will be performed by a supervisory organisation that is independent in its supervisory activity (but authorised by FINMA), whereby several supervisory organisations are possible. In the area of portfolio management, the supervisory authorities will be given the power to make provision for an audit frequency of several years depending on the risk and the activity of those supervised by them.

Current status

Parliament adopted both bills in the final votes on 15 June 2018. The FinSA was accepted by 138 votes to 57 (National Council) and 41 votes to 0 (Council of States); the FinIA passed with 139 votes to 56 (National Council) and 44 votes to 0 (Council of States).

Relative to the Federal Council dispatch, changes and adjustments were made to the bills in the following areas in particular:

  • insurance activities were removed from the scope of the FinIA; the regulations are to be included in the Insurance Oversight Act in a separate revision;
  • simplifications for clients in civil proceedings regarding financial market disputes were dropped;
  • FINMA grants authorisation to independent asset managers and trustees and has full enforcement powers over these; the ongoing supervision of independent asset managers and trustees is to be performed by non-governmental supervisory organisations authorised by FINMA;
  • the insolvency provisions in the Banking Act proposed by the Federal Council in the annex to the FinIA are to be included in a separate consultation;
  • a new authorisation category for companies (in particular in the fintech area) which accept public funds of between CHF 1 million and CHF 100 million will be created in the Banking Act; simpler requirements apply for these companies under certain conditions; following the Federal Council resolution of 30 November 2018, this amendment to the Banking Act was brought into force ahead of schedule on 1 January 2019.

Both laws are expected to come into force with the implementing ordinances on 1 January 2020.

https://www.efd.admin.ch/content/efd/en/home/themen/wirtschaft--waehrung--finanzplatz/finanzmarktpolitik/fidleg-finig/fb-fidleg-finig.html

FIDLEG und FINIG

Stand Juni 2018

Das Wichtigste in Kürze

Der Bundesrat hat Anfang November 2015 die Botschaft zum Finanzdienstleistungsgesetz (FIDLEG) und zum Finanzinstitutsgesetz (FINIG) verabschiedet. FIDLEG und FINIG schaffen einheitliche Wettbewerbsbedingungen für die Finanzintermediäre und verbessern den Kundenschutz. Das FIDLEG enthält Verhaltensregeln, die Finanzdienstleister gegenüber ihren Kunden einhalten müssen. Zudem sieht es Prospektpflichten vor und verlangt für Finanzinstrumente ein leicht verständliches Basisinformationsblatt. Das FINIG vereinheitlicht im Wesentlichen die Bewilligungsregeln für Finanzdienstleister. Die eidgenössischen Räte haben die beiden Gesetzesvorlagen am 15. Juni 2018 in den Schlussabstimmungen verabschiedet.


Mängel des aktuellen Rechts

Das geltende Recht der Finanzdienstleistungen enthält grosse Lücken in den Verhaltens- und Produktregeln. So sind die Kunden oft nicht über den Finanzdienstleister und über dessen Dienstleistungen informiert. Auch hat dieser keine generelle Pflicht, sich nach Kenntnissen und Erfahrungen der Kunden zu erkundigen. Die Prospektpflichten für Finanzprodukte sind lückenhaft und in verschiedenen Erlassen verstreut. Die Prospekte sind für Kunden oft zu ausführlich und zu wenig übersichtlich, und es existieren kaum kurze und einfach verständliche Produktdokumentationen. Zudem sind die Möglichkeiten der Kunden, ihre Rechte durchzusetzen faktisch stark eingeschränkt. Insbesondere bestehen hohe Kostenrisiken.

Die verschiedenen Erbringer von Finanzdienstleistungen sind unterschiedlich stark reguliert und beaufsichtigt. Insbesondere gibt es im Vermögensverwaltungsgeschäft prudenziell Beaufsichtigte (Banken, Effektenhändler, Fondsleitungen und Vermögensverwalter kollektiver Kapitalanlagen) neben nicht beaufsichtigten Finanzdienstleistern (unabhängige Vermögensverwalter).

Diese Mängel im aktuellen Recht führen zu einem unzureichenden Kundenschutz und ungleichen Wettbewerbsbedingungen.

FIDLEG

FIDLEG und FINIG sind Teil der neuen Finanzmarktarchitektur. Diese umfasst die vier Bereiche (1) Aufsicht (bereits heute im Finanzmarktaufsichtsgesetz FINMAG geregelt), (2) Infrastruktur (im Finanzmarktinfrastrukturgesetz FinfraG), (3) Dienstleistungen (FIDLEG) und (4) Beaufsichtigte (FINIG).

Das FIDLEG bringt sektorübergreifende Regeln für das Angebot von Finanzdienstleistungen und den Vertrieb von Finanzinstrumenten. Inhaltlich orientieren sich die Regeln an der EU-Regelung (MiFID II, Prospektrichtlinie, PRIIPS). Dabei werden Anpassungen an die spezifisch schweizerischen Verhältnisse vorgenommen.

Das Gesetz verlangt von den Finanzdienstleistern eine dem Kunden angemessene Aufklärung und Beratung. Privatkunden und professionelle Kunden bilden die beiden Hauptsegmente der Kundinnen und Kunden. Einheitliche Regelungen sind bei der Prospektpflicht vorgesehen, mit Erleichterungen für KMU. Neu soll für Finanzinstrumente, die Privatkunden angeboten werden, ein Basisinformationsblatt (BIB) abgegeben werden. Das BIB soll auf einfache und verständliche Art eine fundierte Anlageentscheidung und einen echten Vergleich verschiedener Finanzinstrumente ermöglichen.

Auf die in der Vernehmlassung umstrittenen Instrumente der Beweislastumkehr, des Prozesskostenfonds und des Schiedsgerichts wird verzichtet. Dafür werden die Ombudsstellen gestärkt. Neu müssen sich sämtliche Finanzdienstleister einer bestehenden oder neu geschaffenen Ombudsstelle anschliessen.

FINIG

Mit dem FINIG wird eine differenzierte Aufsichtsregelung für Vermögensverwalter, Verwalter von Kollektivvermögen, Fondsleitungen und Wertpapierhäuser eingeführt. Dabei werden bewährte Vorschriften des geltenden Rechts übernommen und mit Neuerungen zusammengeführt.

Die wesentliche Neuerung ist die prudenzielle Erfassung der Vermögensverwalter von individuellen Kundenvermögen, von Verwaltern von Vermögenswerten von Vorsorgeeinrichtungen und der Trustees. Dabei werden nicht alle Finanzinstitute von der FINMA überwacht. Die prudenzielle Aufsicht über die Vermögensverwalter von individuellen Kundenvermögen und Trustees erfolgt durch eine in ihrer Aufsichtstätigkeit unabhängige Aufsichtsorganisation (aber von der FINMA bewilligt), wobei mehrere Aufsichtsorganisationen möglich sind. Den Aufsichtsbehörden wird im Bereich der Vermögensverwalter die Kompetenz eingeräumt, eine mehrjährige Prüfperiodizität abhängig vom Risiko und der Tätigkeit des Beaufsichtigten vorzusehen.

Stand der Entwicklung

Die eidgenössischen Räte haben die beiden Gesetzesvorlagen am 15. Juni 2018 in den Schlussabstimmungen verabschiedet, das FIDLEG mit 138 zu 57 (Nationalrat) und 41 zu 0 Stimmen (Ständerat) sowie das FINIG mit 139 zu 56 (Nationalrat) und 44 zu 0 Stimmen (Ständerat).  

Im Vergleich mit der Botschaft des Bundesrates haben die Vorlagen insbesondere in folgenden Punkten Änderungen und Anpassungen erfahren:

  • die Versicherungstätigkeit wurde aus dem Anwendungsbereich des FIDLEG herausgenommen; die Regeln sollen in einer gesonderten Revision ins Versicherungsaufsichtsgesetz aufgenommen werden;
  • die Erleichterungen für Kundinnen und Kunden im Zivilprozess bei Streitigkeiten im Finanzmarkt wurden gestrichen;
  • die FINMA bewilligt die unabhängigen Vermögensverwalter und Trustees und hat diesen gegenüber auch die volle Enforcementkompetenz; die laufende Aufsicht über die unabhängigen Vermögensverwalter und Trustees soll durch nicht behördliche, von der FINMA bewilligte, Aufsichtsorganisationen ausgeübt werden;
  • die vom Bundesrat im Anhang zum FINIG vorgeschlagenen Insolvenzbestimmungen im Bankengesetz sollen in eine gesonderte Vernehmlassung aufgenommen werden;
  • im Bankengesetz wird eine neue Bewilligungskategorie für Unternehmen (insbesondere im Fintech-Bereich) geschaffen, die Publikumseinlagen von  1 bis 100 Millionen Franken entgegennehmen; für diese Unternehmen gelten unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen erleichterte Anforderungen; diese Änderung des Bankengesetzes kann zeitlich vor FIDLEG/FINIG in Kraft gesetzt werden.

Beide Gesetze dürften zusammen mit den Vollzugsverordnungen auf den 1. Januar 2020 in Kraft treten.

https://www.efd.admin.ch/content/efd/de/home/themen/wirtschaft--waehrung--finanzplatz/finanzmarktpolitik/fidleg-finig/fb-fidleg-finig.html