Financial Services Act and Financial Institutions Act

06.11.2019 – The Financial Services Act (FinSA) and Financial Institutions Act (FinIA) are part of the new financial market architecture. Both acts will create uniform competitive conditions for financial intermediaries and improve client protection.

The FinSA contains rules for offering financial services and distributing financial instruments. The FinIA sets the authorisation conditions and organisational requirements for financial institutions subject to prudential (official) supervision.

Parliament adopted both bills in the final votes on 15 June 2018. The FinSA was accepted by 138 votes to 57 (National Council) and 41 votes to 0 (Council of States); the FinIA passed with 139 votes to 56 (National Council) and 44 votes to 0 (Council of States). During its meeting on 6 November 2019, the Federal Council brought the FinSA and the FinIA – together with the implementing ordinances – into force with effect from 1 January 2020.

Fact sheet

Further information

Contact
Last modification 06.11.2019

Top of page

https://www.efd.admin.ch/content/efd/en/home/themen/wirtschaft--waehrung--finanzplatz/finanzmarktpolitik/fidleg-finig.html

Finanzdienstleistungsgesetz und Finanzinstitutsgesetz

06.11.2019 - Das Finanzdienstleistungsgesetz (FIDLEG) und das Finanzinstitutsgesetz (FINIG) sind Teil der neuen Finanzmarktarchitektur. Beide Gesetze schaffen einheitliche Wettbewerbsbedingungen für Finanzintermediäre und verbessern den Kundenschutz.

Das FIDLEG enthält Regeln für das Angebot von Finanzdienstleistungen und den Vertrieb von Finanzinstrumenten. Das FINIG regelt die Bewilligung und die organisatorischen Anforderungen für prudenziell (behördlich) beaufsichtigte Finanzinstitute.

Die eidgenössischen Räte haben die beiden Gesetzesvorlagen am 15. Juni 2018 in den Schlussabstimmungen verabschiedet, das FIDLEG mit 138 zu 57 (Nationalrat) und 41 zu 0 Stimmen (Ständerat) sowie das FINIG mit 139 zu 56 (Nationalrat) und 44 zu 0 Stimmen (Ständerat). Der Bundesrat hat an seiner Sitzung vom 6. November 2019 das FIDLEG und das FINIG zusammen mit den Ausführungsverordnungen per 1. Januar 2020 in Kraft gesetzt.

Faktenblatt

Weiterführende Informationen

https://www.efd.admin.ch/content/efd/de/home/themen/wirtschaft--waehrung--finanzplatz/finanzmarktpolitik/fidleg-finig.html