Automatic exchange of information (AEOI)

27.01.2020 - The global standard on the automatic exchange of financial account information (AEOI) aims to increase tax transparency and thus prevent cross-border tax evasion. To date, more than 100 countries, including Switzerland, have committed themselves to adopting this standard. Domestic bank client confidentiality in Switzerland is not affected by the AEOI.

The legal foundations for the AEOI have been in force since 1 January 2017. To date, Parliament has approved the introduction of the AEOI with 107 partner states. The AEOI has now been activated with 97 partner states (as at 1 January 2020). Switzerland's network of AEOI partner states thus includes all EU and EFTA member states, almost all G20 and all OECD states, Switzerland's most important economic partners and the world's leading financial centres. Financial account information was successfully exchanged with a total of 75 partner states at the end of September 2019. The selection of further partner states will depend on future developments at the international level (other states' commitments; Global Forum's Plan of Action for Developing Countries Participation in AEOI).

The Global Forum on Transparency and Exchange of Information for Tax Purposes (Global Forum) examines the domestic implementation of the AEOI standard by means of peer reviews. The aim is to create a level playing field worldwide. As with the exchange of information upon request, the Global Forum examines the domestic implementation of the AEOI standard by means of peer reviews. These will begin this year. To ensure the integrity of the AEOI standard from the outset, its key elements, including the national AEOI legal foundations, undergo a preliminary review in a phased process. In the context of this preliminary review, the Global Forum made recommendations to Switzerland. The proposal to amend the Federal Act and the Ordinance on the International Automatic Exchange of Information in Tax Matters aims to take the necessary measures to implement the Global Forum's recommendations. This concerns, among other things, certain due diligence and registration obligations, the inclusion of a document retention obligation for financial institutions, as well as definitions. Some exceptions are also to be removed or adapted. The Federal Council adopted the dispatch on the amendment of the AEOI Act on 20 November 2019. Parliament will consider the bill over the course of this year, so that it is expected that the Federal Council will be able to bring the amendments into force on 1 January 2021.

19_AutomatischerInformationsaustausch_2015_EN
The diagram depicts the flow of information between the authorities of two countries. Also shown is what information is exchanged.

Fact sheet

Further information

https://www.efd.admin.ch/content/efd/en/home/themen/wirtschaft--waehrung--finanzplatz/finanzmarktpolitik/automatischer-informationsaustausch--aia-.html

Automatischer Informationsaustausch (AIA)

27.01.2020 - Der globale Standard über den automatischen Informationsaustausch über Finanzkonten (AIA) zielt darauf ab, die Steuertransparenz zu erhöhen und damit die grenzüberschreitende Steuerhinterziehung zu vermeiden. Bisher haben sich mehr als 100 Länder, darunter auch die Schweiz, zur Übernahme dieses Standards bekannt. Das inländische Bankgeheimnis in der Schweiz ist vom AIA nicht betroffen.

Die Rechtsgrundlagen für den AIA sind seit dem 1. Januar 2017 in Kraft. Das Parlament hat bis dato die Einführung des AIA mit 107 Partnerstaaten genehmigt. Mit 97 Partnerstaaten wurde der AIA inzwischen aktiviert (Stand am 1. Januar 2020). Damit umfasst das Netzwerk der AIA-Partnerstaaten der Schweiz alle EU- und EFTA-Mitgliedstaaten, fast alle G-20- und alle OECD-Staaten, die wichtigsten Wirtschaftspartner der Schweiz sowie die weltweit bedeutendsten Finanzplätze. Mit insgesamt 75 Partnerstaaten wurden Ende September 2019 erfolgreich Informationen über Finanzkonten ausgetauscht. Die Auswahl von weiteren Partnerstaaten hängt von den künftigen Entwicklungen auf internationaler Ebene ab („Commitments“ von weiteren Staaten; Programm des Global Forum zur Einführung des AIA mit Entwicklungsländern).

Das Global Forum on Transparency and Exchange of Information for Tax Purposes (Global Forum) überprüft die innerstaatliche Umsetzung des AIA-Standards mittels Länderüberprüfungen. Damit sollen weltweit gleiche Wettbewerbsbedingungen geschaffen werden. Wie beim Informationsaustausch auf Ersuchen prüft das Global Forum die innerstaatliche Umsetzung des AIA-Standards mittels Länderüberprüfungen. Diese beginnen in diesem Jahr. Um die Integrität des AIA-Standards von Beginn weg sicherzustellen, werden dessen zentrale Elemente, darunter die innerstaatlichen AIA-Rechtsgrundlagen, in einem stufenweisen Verfahren vorgeprüft. Im Rahmen dieser Vorprüfung hat das Global Forum Empfehlungen an die Schweiz gerichtet. Mit der Vorlage zur Änderung des Bundesgesetzes und der Verordnung über den internationalen automatischen Informationsaustausch in Steuersachen sollen die zur Umsetzung der Empfehlungen des Global Forum erforderlichen Massnahmen ergriffen werden. Sie betreffen u.a. gewisse Sorgfalts- und Registrierungspflichten, die Aufnahme einer Dokumentenaufbewahrungspflicht für Finanzinstitute sowie Begriffsbestimmungen. Weiter sollen einige Ausnahmebestimmungen aufgehoben oder angepasst werden. Der Bundesrat hat die Botschaft zur Änderung des AIAG am 20. November 2019 verabschiedet. Das Parlament wird die Vorlage im Laufe dieses Jahres behandeln, sodass die Änderungen vom Bundesrat voraussichtlich per 1. Januar 2021 in Kraft gesetzt werden können.

© EFD / DFF

Faktenblatt

Weiterführende Informationen

https://www.efd.admin.ch/content/efd/de/home/themen/wirtschaft--waehrung--finanzplatz/finanzmarktpolitik/automatischer-informationsaustausch--aia-.html