BEPS (Base Erosion and profit Shifting)

Status as at March 2019

Brief summary

The OECD/G20 BEPS (base erosion and profit shifting) project resulted in an action plan aimed at preventing multinationals from shifting their profits to countries with low taxes or even avoiding taxation altogether. The OECD and G20 countries agreed that the problems can be solved only with internationally coordinated measures. The primary aim of the BEPS project is to ensure that profits are taxed in the jurisdiction where the economic activity that gave rise to the profit took place.


The BEPS project

The BEPS project aims to combat base erosion and profit shifting. In particular, the interactions between national tax legislations and aggressive tax planning should not result in inadvertent double non-taxation.

On 19 July 2013, the OECD published the 15-point Action Plan on BEPS in order to address the problem in a holistic manner. Switzerland participated actively in all of the BEPS working parties within the OECD devoted to the BEPS project. The OECD published the final reports on 5 October 2015. The outcomes officially mark the end of the project.

What does BEPS mean for Switzerland?

The OECD published 13 final reports containing recommendations. For Switzerland, the following standards are important:

  • Patent/IP boxes
    The BEPS measure also defines a new standard for the preferential taxation of patents and other intangible property. The income from eligible intangible property can benefit from preferential taxation only if it is generated from research and development generally carried out in the place of taxation.
  • Spontaneous exchange of information on rulings
    The established framework governs the spontaneous exchange of information on specific advance tax rulings and similar instruments.
  • Preferential regimes
    The OECD completed the assessment of the preferential tax regimes of its member states and of other jurisdictions participating in the BEPS project, including Swiss regimes.
  • Dispute resolution mechanisms
    As a minimum, the states undertake to grant access to the mutual agreement procedure when the application of a double taxation agreement could lead to double taxation.
  • Prevention of treaty abuse
    New anti-abuse provisions should make it possible to prevent the advantages of double taxation agreements (DTAs) from being granted to entities that are not domiciled in one of the contracting states and that are thus not entitled to access the agreement benefits.
  • Country-by-country reports
    Now, country-by-country reports are to be drawn up and exchanged automatically. The county-by-country reports provide an overview of multinationals' global allocation of income and taxes paid, together with other indicators of the location of economic activity within the group.

Current status

The overarching principle is that taxation should occur where the economic activity is performed and added value is created. All participating states will have to amend their laws and practices accordingly. This is likely to lead to a level playing field.

Switzerland has already taken account of some BEPS project outcomes or is in the process of doing so within the framework of ongoing reforms. The legal basis for the spontaneous exchange of information was created with the ratification of the OECD/Council of Europe Convention on Mutual Administrative Assistance in Tax Matters.

The taxation of multinationals should be made more transparent with the automatic exchange of country-by-country reports. The corresponding law and the multilateral agreement came into force on 1 December 2017. Multinationals in Switzerland are thus obliged to start drawing up a country-by-country report from the 2018 tax year. Switzerland and its partner states will therefore exchange country-by-country reports from 2020.

Some BEPS project actions require the adjustment of DTAs. The corresponding final reports contain DTA model provisions, some of which are minimum standards. In order to implement the adaptation of existing DTAs quickly and cost-effectively, a BEPS multilateral instrument (MLI) was drawn up by a group of over 100 states and territories The first signing ceremony took place on 7 June 2017, when almost 70 states and territories, including Switzerland, signed the BEPS convention. On 22 August 2018, the Federal Council adopted the dispatch on the BEPS convention and published the results of the consultation. The dispatch was submitted to Parliament. On 22 March 2019, Parliament approved the convention in the final vote. The convention is subject to an optional referendum.  

https://www.efd.admin.ch/content/efd/en/home/themen/steuern/steuern-international/beps/fb-beps.html

BEPS (Base Erosion and profit Shifting)

Stand März 2019

Das Wichtigste in Kürze

Das OECD/G20-Projekt BEPS („Base Erosion and Profit Shifting“) stellt einen Aktionsplan dar, mit dem verhindert werden soll, dass multinationale Konzerne ihre Gewinne in steuergünstige Länder verschieben oder sich gar ganz der Besteuerung entziehen. Die OECD- und G20-Staaten waren sich einig, dass die Probleme nur mit international abgestimmten Massnahmen gelöst werden können. Das Hauptziel des BEPS-Projekts ist die Besteuerung der Gewinne am Ort, wo sie erzielt wurden.


Das BEPS-Projekt

Das BEPS-Projekt geht gegen Gewinnverkürzung und -verschiebung vor. Insbesondere soll sich aus dem Zusammenwirken nationaler Steuergesetzgebungen und einer aggressiven Steuerplanung keine unbeabsichtigte doppelte Nichtbesteuerung ergeben. Die OECD veröffentlichte am 19. Juli 2013 den BEPS-Aktionsplan, der insgesamt 15 Massnahmen umfasst und das Problem global angeht. Die Schweiz hat sich aktiv an allen mit dem BEPS-Projekt befassten OECD-Arbeitsgruppen beteiligt. Am 5. Oktober 2015 wurden die Schlussberichte von der OECD veröffentlicht. Die Ergebnisse bilden den offiziellen Abschluss des Projekts.

Was bedeutet BEPS für die Schweiz?

Die OECD hat 13 Schlussberichte veröffentlicht, die Empfehlungen enthalten. Für die Schweiz sind folgende Standards von Bedeutung:

  • Patent-/IP Boxen
    Die BEPS-Massnahme definiert auch einen neuen Standard für die privilegierte Besteuerung von Patenten und anderen Immaterialgütern. Die aus bestimmten Immaterialgütern stammenden Erträge dürfen nur dann privilegiert besteuert werden, wenn sie aus Forschung und Entwicklung stammen, die grundsätzlich am Ort der Besteuerung durchgeführt wurde.
  • Spontaner Informationsaustausch über Rulings
    Der erarbeitete Rahmen regelt den spontanen Informationsaustausch über gewisse Steuervorbescheide und ähnliche Instrumente.
  • Präferenzielle Regimes
    Die OECD hat die Überprüfung von präferenziellen Steuerregimes ihrer Mitgliedstaaten und weiterer am BEPS-Projekt beteiligter Staaten abgeschlossen, wozu auch schweizerische Regimes gehören.
  • Streitbeilegungsmechanismen
    Die Staaten verpflichten sich, zumindest Zugang zum Verständigungsverfahren zu gewähren, wenn die Anwendung eines Doppelbesteuerungsabkommens zu einer Doppelbesteuerung führen könnte.
  • Verhinderung von Abkommensmissbrauch
    Neue Missbrauchsbestimmungen sollen verhindern, dass die Vorteile von Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen (DBA) Personen gewährt werden, die in keinem der Vertragsstaaten ansässig sind und die deshalb nicht zur Nutzung der Abkommensvorteile berechtigt sind.
  • Länderspezifische Berichte
    Neu sind länderbezogene Berichte („country-by-country reports“) zu erstellen und automatisch auszutauschen. Der länderbezogene Bericht verschafft eine Übersicht über die weltweite Verteilung der Gewinne multinationaler Unternehmen und der entrichteten Steuern sowie weiterer Angaben zur Lage von Aktivitäten der Gruppe.

Stand der Entwicklung

Übergeordnetes Leitprinzip ist der Grundsatz, dass die Besteuerung dort erfolgen soll, wo die Gewinne erzielt werden. Alle teilnehmenden Staaten werden entsprechende Anpassungen in Recht und Praxis vornehmen müssen. Dies dürfte zu einheitlicheren Regeln führen („level playing field“).

Die Schweiz hat einige Ergebnisse des BEPS-Projekts bereits berücksichtigt oder ist derzeit daran, dies im Rahmen von Reformen zu tun. Mit der Ratifikation des Übereinkommens des Europarats und der OECD über die Amtshilfe in Steuersachen wurde die rechtliche Grundlage für den spontanen Informationsaustausch geschaffen.

Mit dem automatischen Informationsaustausch von länderbezogenen Berichten soll die Besteuerung multinationaler Unternehmen transparenter gemacht werden. Das entsprechende Gesetz und die multilaterale Vereinbarung sind am 1. Dezember 2017 in Kraft getreten. Multinationale Unternehmen in der Schweiz wurden damit verpflichtet, ab dem Steuerjahr 2018 erstmals einen länderbezogenen Bericht zu erstellen. Die Schweiz und ihre Partnerstaaten werden somit ab 2020 die länderbezogenen Berichte austauschen.

Einige Massnahmen des BEPS-Projekts erfordern die Anpassung von DBA. Die entsprechenden Schlussberichte enthalten DBA-Musterbestimmungen, welche teilweise Mindeststandards darstellen. Mit dem Ziel, die Anpassung bestehender DBA rasch und kosteneffizient umzusetzen, wurde von einer Gruppe von über 100 Staaten und Gebieten ein multilaterales Übereinkommen (BEPS-Übereinkommen) ausgearbeitet. Am 7. Juni 2017 fand dessen erste Unterzeichnungszeremonie statt, an der knapp 70 Staaten und Gebiete, worunter die Schweiz, das BEPS-Übereinkommen unterzeichneten. Der Bundesrat hat am 22. August 2018 die Botschaft zum BEPS-Übereinkommen verabschiedet und die Vernehmlassungsergebnisse veröffentlicht. Die Botschaft wurde an die Eidgenössischen Räte überwiesen. Am 22. März 2019 haben diese das Übereinkommen in den Schlussabstimmungen gutgeheissen. Das Übereinkommen unterliegt dem fakultativen Referendum.

 

https://www.efd.admin.ch/content/efd/de/home/themen/steuern/steuern-international/beps/fb-beps.html