Swiss Digital Initiative

The Swiss Digital Initiative is intended to encourage companies worldwide to adopt ethical codes of conduct. As an innovative location known for legal certainty, stability and not least neutrality, Switzerland is predestined to support such an objective.

The Swiss Digital Initiative (SDI) sees itself as a long-term and sustainable process for securing ethical standards in the digital world. In particular, it aims to strengthen confidence in digital technologies and in the players involved in the ongoing digital transformation. Federal Councillor Ueli Maurer is patron of the initiative which was launched by digitalswitzerland.

Swiss Global Digital Summit

The SDI was launched on 2 September 2019 at the first Swiss Global Digital Summit in Geneva. Under the patronage of President Ueli Maurer, the top representatives of globally active companies and Swiss scientists invited discussed an initial position paper on the SDI. The position paper discussed at the summit was prepared in advance by a group of experts from Swiss universities.

On the basis of the discussion results, the SDI was further developed together with other stakeholders from civil society. The SDI was officially launched by decision-makers from business, academia and politics at the WEF 2020 on 21 January 2020.

The SDI is intended to lead to a self-commitment to ethical standards and conduct such as transparency, responsibility, non-discrimination and explanatory power, which are still only partially institutionalised. In addition, it is tasked with developing instruments that make this commitment measurable for users and consumers.

Swiss Digital Initiative Foundation

The SDI is supported by the Swiss Digital Initiative Foundation which is based in Geneva. The purpose of the foundation, which is governed by private law, is to promote ethical standards and conduct in the handling of digital information and technologies at the global level. The foundation carries out its work through its own projects, grants and the financing or co-financing of selected third-party projects.

The Swiss Digital Initiative Foundation is under the patronage of Federal Councillor Ueli Maurer and is chaired by former Federal Councillor Doris Leuthard. Federal Chancellor Walter Thurnherr was elected ad personam to the Foundation Board. On the scientific side, Joël Mesot, President of ETH Zurich, and Yves Flückiger, Rector of the University of Geneva, sit on the Foundation Board. As representatives of the private initiative location digitalswitzerland, Marc Walder, founder of digitalswitzerland, and Ivo Furrer, President of digitalswitzerland, are also members of the Foundation Board. The foundation is fully financed by digitalswitzerland.

Greeting of Federal Councillor Ueli Maurer at the foundation of the Swiss Digital Initiative
Greeting of Federal Councillor Ueli Maurer at the foundation of the Swiss Digital Initiative

Further information

Contact
Last modification 24.01.2020

Top of page

https://www.efd.admin.ch/content/efd/en/home/themen/Digitalisierung/swiss-digital-initiative.html

Swiss Digital Initiative

Die Swiss Digital Initiative soll Unternehmen weltweit zur Übernahme von ethischen Verhaltensregeln bewegen. Die Schweiz als innovativer Standort, bekannt für Rechtssicherheit, Stabilität und nicht zuletzt für Neutralität, ist prädestiniert, eine solche Zielsetzung zu unterstützen.

Die Swiss Digital Initiative (SDI) versteht sich als langfristigen und nachhaltigen Prozess zur Sicherung ethischer Standards in der digitalen Welt. Insbesondere soll das Vertrauen in digitale Technologien sowie in die an der fortschreitenden digitalen Transformation beteiligten Akteure gestärkt werden. Die Initiative steht unter dem Patronat von Bundesrat Ueli Maurer, initiiert wurde sie von digitalswitzerland.

Swiss Global Digital Summit

Der Startschuss der SDI ist am 2. September 2019 am ersten Swiss Global Digital Summit in Genf gefallen. Unter dem Patronat von Bundespräsident Ueli Maurer wurde ein erstes Grundsatzpapier zur SDI unter den eingeladenen Spitzenvertreterinnen und Spitzenvertretern global tätiger Unternehmen sowie Schweizer Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern diskutiert. Das am Summit diskutierte Grundsatzpapier wurde im Vorfeld von einer Expertengruppe von Schweizer Hochschulen und Universitäten erarbeitet.

Auf Basis der Diskussionsergebnisse wurde die SDI zusammen mit weiteren Stakeholdern namentlich aus der Zivilgesellschaft weiter ausgearbeitet.Offiziell lanciert wurde die SDI am 21. Januar 2020 durch Entscheidungsträgerinnen und Entscheidungsträger aus Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Politik anlässlich des WEF 2020.

Die SDI soll eine Selbstverpflichtung auf nach wie vor erst schwach institutionalisierte ethische Standards und Verhaltensweisen wie Transparenz, Verantwortung, Nicht-Diskriminierung und Erklärbarkeit bewirken. Darüber hinaus soll sie Instrumente entwickeln, die diese Selbstverpflichtung für Nutzerinnen und Nutzer sowie Konsumentinnen und Konsumenten messbar machen.

Swiss Digital Initiative Foundation

Trägerin der SDI ist die Stiftung Swiss Digital Initiative mit Sitz in Genf. Die privatrechtlich organisierte Stiftung bezweckt, auf globaler Ebene ethische Standards und ethisches Verhalten im Umgang mit digitalen Informationen und Technologien zu fördern. Die Stiftung übt ihre Tätigkeit mittels eigener Projekte, durch Vergabungen sowie durch Finanzierung oder Mitfinanzierung ausgewählter Projekte Dritter aus.

Die Stiftung Swiss Digital Initiative steht unter dem Patronat von Bundesrat Ueli Maurer und wird präsidiert von alt Bundesrätin Doris Leuthard. Bundeskanzler Walter Thurnherr wurde ad personam in den Stiftungsrat gewählt. Seitens der Wissenschaft nehmen Joel Mesot, Präsident der ETH Zürich, und Yves Flückiger, Rektor der Universität Genf, Einsitz in den Stiftungsrat. Als Vertreter der privaten Standortinitiative digitalswitzerland sind Marc Walder, Gründer digitalswitzerland, und Ivo Furrer, Präsident digitalswitzerland, ebenfalls Mitglieder des Stiftungsrats. Die Stiftung wird vollumfänglich durch digitalswitzerland finanziert.

Grusswort BR Ueli Maurer bei der Gründung der Swiss Digital Initiative
Grusswort BR Ueli Maurer bei der Gründung der Swiss Digital Initiative

Weiterführende Informationen

Kontakt
Letzte Änderung 24.01.2020

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.efd.admin.ch/content/efd/de/home/themen/Digitalisierung/swiss-digital-initiative.html