Blockchain

Blockchain-1600-1000

22.03.2019 – The Federal Council wants to further improve the framework conditions for companies in the area of blockchain and distributed ledger technology (DLT). On 14 December 2018, it published a report on the legal framework for blockchain/DLT in the financial sector. The report shows that Switzerland's legal framework is well suited to dealing with new technologies, including blockchain. Nevertheless, there is still a need for selective adjustments. Against this background, on 22 March 2019 the Federal Council initiated the consultation on the adaptation of federal law to developments in distributed ledger technology. With this proposal, the Federal Council wants to increase legal certainty, remove hurdles for DLT-based applications and limit risks of misuse. The consultation will last until the end of June 2019.

In December 2018, the Federal Council also noted the analysis of an interdepartmental working group on the money laundering and terrorist financing risks posed by crypto assets. The corresponding report was also published on 14 December 2018.

Factsheet

Press conferences - 14.12.2018

Media seminar - 14.12.2018

DSCN0064.JPG

In-depth insight into blockchain report at media seminar

The blockchain report was presented to interested media professionals and industry representatives not only in Bern, but also in Zug. With its Crypto Valley, Zug is one of the leading Swiss blockchain locations. Jörg Gasser, State Secretary for International Finance, Michael Manz, Deputy Head of the Financial System and Markets Division, and Arie Gerszt, Deputy Head of Capital Markets and Infrastructure, provided an in-depth insight into the technical finesse and subtleties of the report at the media seminar. The visit to the heart of the Crypto Valley underscored the relevance of blockchain technology and its impetus for the Swiss economy. As explained by Jörg Gasser, the report is intended to send a signal to the outside world that Switzerland is not only open to blockchain technology, but also wants to make active use of it.

The recorded media seminar can be found at the link below.

Contact
Last modification 22.03.2019

Top of page

https://www.efd.admin.ch/content/efd/en/home/themen/Digitalisierung/blockchain.html

Blockchain

Blockchain-1600-1000

22.03.2019 – Der Bundesrat will die Rahmenbedingungen für Unternehmen im Bereich der Blockchain und Distributed Ledger Technologie (DLT) weiter verbessern. Er hat am 14. Dezember 2018 einen Bericht zu den rechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen für Blockchain/DLT im Finanzsektor veröffentlicht. Der Bericht zeigt auf, dass der Schweizer Rechtsrahmen gut geeignet ist, mit neuen Technologien inklusive Blockchain umzugehen. Dennoch besteht punktuell ein Anpassungsbedarf. Vor diesem Hintergrund hat der Bundesrat am 22. März 2019 die Vernehmlassung zum Bundesgesetz zur Anpassung des Bundesrechts an Entwicklungen der Technik verteilter elektronischer Register eröffnet. Der Bundesrat will mit der Vorlage die Rechtssicherheit erhöhen, Hürden für auf DLT-basierte Anwendungen beseitigen und Missbrauchsrisiken begrenzen. Die Vernehmlassung dauert bis Ende Juni 2019.

Der Bundesrat nahm ferner im Dezember 2018 die Analyse einer interdepartementalen Arbeitsgruppe zu Geldwäscherei- und Terrorismusfinanzierungsrisiken von Krypto-Assets zur Kenntnis. Der entsprechende Bericht wurde ebenfalls am 14. Dezember 2018 publiziert.

 

Faktenblatt

Medienkonferenz vom 14.12.2018

Medienseminar vom 14.12.2018

DSCN0064.JPG

Fundierter Einblick in den Blockchain-Bericht am Medienseminar

Nicht nur in Bern, sondern auch in Zug wurde der Blockchain-Bericht interessierten Medienschaffenden und Branchenvertretern vorgestellt. Zug ist mit seinem Crypto Valley einer der führenden Schweizer Standorte für den Blockchain-Bereich. Jörg Gasser, Staatssekretär für internationale Finanzfragen, Michael Manz, stellvertretender Leiter Finanzsystem und Finanzmärkte, sowie Arie Gerszt, stellvertretender Leiter Kapitalmärkte und Infrastruktur, ermöglichten am Medienseminar einen vertieften Einblick in die technischen Finessen und Feinheiten des Berichts. Mit dem Besuch im Herzen des Crypto Valleys wurde die Relevanz der Blockchain-Technologie und deren Stosskraft für die Schweizer Wirtschaft unterstrichen. Wie Gasser erklärt, soll der Bericht eine Signalwirkung gegen aussen erzielen, dass die Schweiz der Blockchain-Technologie nicht nur offen gegenübersteht, sondern sie auch aktiv nutzen will.  

Das aufgezeichnete Medienseminar finden Sie unter untenstehendem Link.

Kontakt
Letzte Änderung 22.03.2019

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.efd.admin.ch/content/efd/de/home/themen/Digitalisierung/blockchain.html