Exchange of tax-related information

Brief summary

Tax authorities exchange information, e.g. on financial accounts and advance tax rulings, in order to increase transparency and prevent cross-border tax evasion. The exchange of information in accordance with international standards takes place upon request, spontaneously or automatically.


Exchange of information upon request

The rules on the exchange of tax-related information upon request are set out in bilateral double taxation agreements (DTAs). The corresponding OECD international standard is decisive. Switzerland is prepared to agree on a provision on the exchange of information upon request according to the international standard in all DTAs. Implementation of the exchange of information upon request is reviewed by the Global Forum on Transparency and Exchange of Information for Tax Purposes.

Spontaneous exchange of information

Information is spontaneously exchanged between tax authorities when the transmitting state suspects that information may be of interest to another state. In this context, spontaneous means that no request was submitted beforehand. The first spontaneous exchange of information took place within the framework of the OECD/G20 project on base erosion and profit shifting (BEPS). This concerns advance tax rulings where there is a risk of base erosion or profit sharing. Switzerland has been spontaneously exchanging information on advance tax rulings since 2018.

Automatic exchange of information

As part of the automatic exchange of information, partner states regularly provide each other with information on financial accounts, as well as country reports, for example.

The OECD's global standard for the automatic exchange of financial account information (AEOI) is designed to increase tax transparency and prevent cross-border tax evasion. It makes provision for the mutual exchange of information on financial accounts between states and territories that have agreed among themselves to the AEOI. Aside from Switzerland, over 100 states, including all major financial centres, have undertaken to adopt the standard.

The exchange of country-by-country reports aims to combat base erosion and profit shifting. With the adoption of the corresponding standard, multinationals in Switzerland are obliged to prepare a country-by-country report from the 2018 tax year onwards. Switzerland then exchanges the reports with its partner states.

Further information on the topic can be found on the website of the State Secretariat for International Finance SIF

Further information

Contact
Last modification 11.11.2020

Top of page

https://www.efd.admin.ch/content/efd/en/home/steuern/steuern-international/steuerlicher-informationsaustausch.html

Steuerlicher Informationsaustausch

Das Wichtigste in Kürze

Steuerbehörden tauschen Informationen bspw. über Finanzkonten und Steuervorbescheide aus, um die Transparenz zu erhöhen und die grenzüberschreitende Steuerhinterziehung zu verhindern. Der Informationsaustausch gemäss internationalen Standards erfolgt auf Ersuchen, spontan oder automatisch.


Informationsaustausch auf Ersuchen

Die Regeln über den steuerlichen Informationsaustausch auf Ersuchen sind in bilateralen Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen (DBA) festgelegt. Massgebend ist der entsprechende internationale Standard der OECD. Die Schweiz ist bereit, eine Bestimmung über den Informationsaustausch auf Ersuchen nach internationalem Standard in sämtlichen DBA zu vereinbaren. Die Umsetzung des Informationsaustauschs auf Ersuchen wird vom Global Forum on Transparency and Exchange of Information for Tax Purposes überprüft.

Spontaner Informationsaustausch

Informationen werden dann spontan zwischen Steuerbehörden ausgetauscht, wenn der informierende Staat ein mögliches Interesse eines anderen Staates an Informationen vermutet. Spontan heisst in diesem Kontext, dass kein vorgängiges Ersuchen vorliegt. Ein spontaner Informationsaustausch erfolgte erstmals im Rahmen des OECD-G20-Projekts zur Bekämpfung der Gewinnverkürzung und –verlagerung (Base Erosion and Profit Shifting, BEPS). Betroffen sind Steuervorbescheide, bei denen ein Risiko der Gewinnverkürzung oder Gewinnverschiebung besteht. Die Schweiz tauscht seit 2018 spontan Informationen über Steuervorbescheide aus.

Automatischer Informationsaustausch

Im Rahmen des automatischen Informationsaustauschs stellen sich Partnerstaaten unter anderem regelmässig Angaben über Finanzkonten, aber auch Länderberichte zur Verfügung.

Der globale Standard der OECD für den automatischen Informationsaustausch über Finanzkonten (AIA) soll die Steuertransparenz erhöhen und die grenzüberschreitende Steuerhinterziehung verhindern. Der Standard sieht vor, dass Staaten und Territorien, die den AIA untereinander vereinbart haben, gegenseitig Informationen über Finanzkonten austauschen. Nebst der Schweiz haben sich über 100 Staaten, darunter alle wichtigen Finanzzentren, zur Übernahme des Standards bekannt.

Der Austausch länderbezogener Berichte dient dazu, die Gewinnverkürzung und -verlagerung zu bekämpfen. Mit der Übernahme des entsprechenden Standards sind multinationale Unternehmen in der Schweiz verpflichtet, ab dem Steuerjahr 2018 einen länderbezogenen Bericht zu erstellen. Die Schweiz tauscht die Berichte anschliessend mit ihren Partnerstaaten aus.

Weitere Informationen zum Thema sind auf dem Webauftritt des Staatssekretariats für international Finanzfragen SIF zu finden:

Weiterführende Informationen

Kontakt
Letzte Änderung 11.11.2020

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.efd.admin.ch/content/efd/de/home/steuern/steuern-international/steuerlicher-informationsaustausch.html