Sustainability in the financial sector

Brief summary

Eco-sustainability in the financial sector is becoming increasingly important both nationally and internationally, which is a great opportunity for the Swiss financial centre. The state plays the role of mediator, conducts intensive dialogue with the sector and interested parties, and advocates an optimal regulatory framework.


The Federal Council adopted a report and guidelines on sustainability in the financial sector in June 2020. The aim is to make Switzerland a leading location for sustainable financial services. In order to achieve this, the Federal Council wants to shape the framework conditions in such a way that the competitiveness of Switzerland's financial centre is improved and, at the same time, the financial sector can make an effective contribution to sustainability.

In March 2020, Switzerland also joined the International Platform on Sustainable Finance (IPSF). This multilateral forum's aims are closer international coordination and a more in-depth exchange on environmentally sustainable finance.

Further information on the topic can be found on the website of the State Secretariat for International Finance SIF:

Press conference - 26.06.2020

Further information

Last modification 12.01.2021

https://www.efd.admin.ch/content/efd/en/home/finanzplatz/sustainable-finance.html

Nachhaltigkeit im Finanzsektor

Das Wichtigste in Kürze

Ökologische Nachhaltigkeit im Finanzbereich gewinnt national und international an Bedeutung. Das ist für den Schweizer Finanzplatz eine grosse Chance. Der Staat übernimmt hierbei die Rolle eines Vermittlers, führt mit der Branche und den interessierten Kreisen einen intensiven Dialog und setzt sich für einen optimalen Regulierungsrahmen ein.


Im Juni 2020 hat der Bundesrat einen Bericht und Leitlinien zur Nachhaltigkeit im Finanzsektor verabschiedet. Ziel ist es, die Schweiz zu einem führenden Standort für nachhaltige Finanzdienstleistungen zu machen. Dazu will der Bundesrat die Rahmenbedingungen so gestalten, dass die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit des Schweizer Finanzplatzes verbessert wird und gleichzeitig der Finanzsektor einen effektiven Beitrag zur Nachhaltigkeit leisten kann.

Im März 2020 ist die Schweiz zudem der Internationalen Plattform für ein nachhaltiges Finanzwesen (International Platform on Sustainable Finance; IPSF) beigetreten. Dieses multilaterale Forum strebt eine engere internationale Koordination und einen vertieften Austausch für ein ökologisch nachhaltiges Finanzwesen an.

Weitere Informationen zum Thema sind auf dem Webauftritt des Staatssekretariats für international Finanzfragen SIF zu finden:

Medienkonferenz vom 26.06.2020

Weiterführende Informationen

Letzte Änderung 12.01.2021

https://www.efd.admin.ch/content/efd/de/home/finanzplatz/sustainable-finance.html