The Bernerhof – once a luxury hotel, now the headquarters of the FDF

The Federal Department of Finance (FDF) has its headquarters in the Bernerhof. Formerly a luxury hotel, it is now a modern building for public services and representation in Switzerland's capital city. The building's history is closely bound up with that of the Swiss Confederation. But not in the way that you might think.

Video: The Bernerhof - Once a prestigious hotel – today a building for public services and representation

A luxury hotel for Bern

In 1848, Bern was designated as the seat of government. Parliament would convene here four times a year. The city thus had to provide a seat for the government and its administration. The Federal State House, now the west wing of the Federal Palace, was finished in 1857. The Bernese hotelier Jean Kraft suspected that members of parliament and state guests would soon be needing appropriate accommodation in Bern. Between 1856 and 1858, he therefore built a luxury hotel, the Bernerhof, on the western side of the State House. It was designed by the same architects who were responsible for the State House, Friedrich Studer and Johann Carl Dähler. It had 123 rooms.

Famous guests

Up until 1870, the Bernerhof was the only luxury hotel in Bern. When it opened, it was considered the best hotel in Europe. Royalty and prominent figures stayed there: Napoleon III, the Emperor of France; the Empress of Russia, the Queens of Sweden and the Netherlands, the King of Siam, the Maharaja of Jodhpur in India, Baron Rothschild, the writer Carl Spitteler, the composer Jacques Offenbach, the polar explorer Roald Amundsen and many more.

A few years after the Bernerhof opened, a competitor also attracted well-heeled guests. On the eastern side of the State House, the Hotel Bellevue was built, and to this day it continues to welcome guests from around the world.

Photos of the Bernerhof

Source: Burgerbibliothek, Bern

The Bernerhof becomes a building for public services and representation

World War I saw an economic slump: from one day to the next, guests were few and far between. The hotel business never quite recovered from this. When the hotelier passed away in 1923, his widow sold the Bernerhof to the Confederation. It underwent modifications and in 1924, the Federal Department of Finance moved in.

Major renovation work also took place in 2004-2005: representation rooms were fitted out on the ground floor and the banqueting hall for state receptions was removed. At the same time, the office space was modernised. Since 2021, the fifth floor has been home to the Skylounge – a cafeteria and a space for modern ways of working.

Setting the standard in hotel architecture

The Bernerhof plays an important role in the history of hotel architecture. It served as the model for the Hotel Victoria in Interlaken, which was built between 1864 and 1866, and was the first large hotel in the budding Bernese Oberland tourist destination.

"The Bernerhof in Berne"

You can find additional information on the Bernerhof in the Swiss art guide "The Bernerhof in Berne". This is published by the Swiss Confederation together with the Society for the History of Swiss Art (SHSA). The guide can be ordered in English, French, German and Italian from the SHSA website.

The Bernerhof in Berne

https://www.efd.admin.ch/content/efd/en/home/das-efd/kontakt/der-bernerhof--vom-nobelhotel-zum-sitz-des-efd.html

Der Bernerhof - Vom Nobelhotel zum Sitz des EFD

Der Sitz des Eidgenössischen Finanzdepartements EFD befindet sich im Bernerhof. Das ehemalige Nobelhotel ist heute ein modernes Verwaltungs- und Repräsentationsgebäude der Bundeshauptstadt. Die Geschichte des Hauses ist eng mit der Geschichte des Schweizer Bundesstaates verknüpft. Aber anders, als man vermuten würde.

Video: Der Bernerhof: Einst Nobelhotel - Heute Verwaltungs- und Repräsentationsgebäude

Ein Nobelhotel für Bern

1848 wurde Bern zum Regierungssitz ernannt. Viermal pro Jahr sollten hier die Räte zusammentreten. Die Stadt musste deshalb für die Regierung und die Verwaltung einen Sitz bereitstellen. 1857 war das Bundes-Rathaus fertiggestellt, das heutige Bundeshaus West. Der Hotelier Jean Kraft aus Bern ahnte, dass bald Räte und Staatsgäste eine angemessene Unterkunft in Bern benötigten. 1856-1858 liess er deshalb auf der Westseite des Rathauses das Nobelhotel Bernerhof erstellen und zwar von den Rathaus-Architekten Friedrich Studer und Johann Carl Dähler. Es verfügte über 123 Zimmer.

Berühmte Gäste

Bis 1870 war der Bernerhof das einzige Nobelhotel in Bern. Er galt bei seiner Eröffnung als beste Adresse in Europa. In ihm stiegen gekrönte und berühmte Häupter ab: Napoléon III., Kaiser von Frankreich; die Kaiserin von Russland, die Königinnen von Schweden und den Niederlanden, der König von Siam, der Maharadscha von Jodhpur in Indien, Baron Rothschild, der Schriftsteller Carl Spitteler, der Komponist Jacques Offenbach, der Polarforscher Roald Amundsen und viele weitere.

Einige Jahre nach der Eröffnung des Bernerhofs lockte ein Konkurrent ebenfalls gutbetuchte Gäste an. Auf der Ostseite des Bundes-Rathauses wurde das Hotel Bellevue erbaut. Im Hotel Bellevue werden heute noch Gäste aus aller Welt empfangen.  

Fotos des Hotel Bernerhof

Bildnachweis: Burgerbiblithek, Bern

Der Bernerhof wird Verwaltungs- und Repräsentationsgebäude

Mit dem Ersten Weltkrieg kam ein wirtschaftlicher Einbruch: Von einem Tag auf den anderen blieben die Gäste aus. Der Hotelbetrieb erholte sich auch danach nicht mehr richtig. Als 1923 der Hotelier verstarb, verkaufte seine Witwe den Bernerhof an die Eidgenossenschaft. Er wurde umgebaut, und 1924 zog das Eidgenössische Finanzdepartement ein.

Ein weiterer grosser Umbau des Bernerhofs fand 2004-2005 statt: Im Erdgeschoss wurden repräsentative Räume erstellt und der Bankettsaal für Staatsempfänge rückgebaut. Auch wurden im Gebäude die Büros modernisiert. Seit 2021 befindet sich im 5. Stock die Skylounge – Cafeteria und Ort für moderne Arbeitsformen.

Vorbildliche Hotelarchitektur

In der Geschichte der Hotelarchitektur hat der Bernerhof einen wichtigen Platz. Der Bernerhof diente als Vorbild für das Hotel Victoria in Interlaken. Es wurde zwischen 1864 und 1866 gebaut und war das erste Grosshotel in der damals noch jungen Berner Oberländer Tourismusmetropole.

"Der Bernerhof in Bern"

Weiterführende Informationen zum Bernerhof finden Sie im Schweizerischen Kunstführer «Der Bernerhof in Bern». Diese Publikation hat die Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft zusammen mit der Gesellschaft für Schweizerische Kunstgeschichte GSK herausgegeben. Auf der Website der GSK kann der Kunstführer deutsch, französisch, italienisch und englisch bestellt werden.

Der Bernerhof in Bern

https://www.efd.admin.ch/content/efd/de/home/das-efd/kontakt/der-bernerhof--vom-nobelhotel-zum-sitz-des-efd.html