The Bernerhof – once a luxury hotel, now the headquarters of the FDF

The Federal Department of Finance (FDF) has its headquarters in the Bernerhof. Formerly a luxury hotel, it is now a modern building for public services and representation in Switzerland's capital city. The building's history is closely bound up with that of the Swiss Confederation. But not in the way that you might think.

Video: The Bernerhof - Once a prestigious hotel – today a building for public services and representation

A luxury hotel for Bern

In 1848, Bern was designated as the seat of government. Parliament would convene here four times a year. The city thus had to provide a seat for the government and its administration. The Federal State House, now the west wing of the Federal Palace, was finished in 1857. The Bernese hotelier Jean Kraft suspected that members of parliament and state guests would soon be needing appropriate accommodation in Bern. Between 1856 and 1858, he therefore built a luxury hotel, the Bernerhof, on the western side of the State House. It was designed by the same architects who were responsible for the State House, Friedrich Studer and Johann Carl Dähler. It had 123 rooms.

Famous guests

Up until 1870, the Bernerhof was the only luxury hotel in Bern. When it opened, it was considered the best hotel in Europe. Royalty and prominent figures stayed there: Napoleon III, the Emperor of France; the Empress of Russia, the Queens of Sweden and the Netherlands, the King of Siam, the Maharaja of Jodhpur in India, Baron Rothschild, the writer Carl Spitteler, the composer Jacques Offenbach, the polar explorer Roald Amundsen and many more.

A few years after the Bernerhof opened, a competitor also attracted well-heeled guests. On the eastern side of the State House, the Hotel Bellevue was built, and to this day it continues to welcome guests from around the world.

Photos of the Bernerhof

Source: Burgerbibliothek, Bern

The Bernerhof becomes a building for public services and representation

World War I saw an economic slump: from one day to the next, guests were few and far between. The hotel business never quite recovered from this. When the hotelier passed away in 1923, his widow sold the Bernerhof to the Confederation. It underwent modifications and in 1924, the Federal Department of Finance moved in.

Major renovation work also took place in 2004-2005: representation rooms were fitted out on the ground floor and the banqueting hall for state receptions was removed. At the same time, the office space was modernised. Since 2021, the fifth floor has been home to the Skylounge – a cafeteria and a space for modern ways of working.

Setting the standard in hotel architecture

The Bernerhof plays an important role in the history of hotel architecture. It served as the model for the Hotel Victoria in Interlaken, which was built between 1864 and 1866, and was the first large hotel in the budding Bernese Oberland tourist destination.

"The Bernerhof in Berne"

You can find additional information on the Bernerhof in the Swiss art guide "The Bernerhof in Berne". This is published by the Swiss Confederation together with the Society for the History of Swiss Art (SHSA). The guide can be ordered in English, French, German and Italian from the SHSA website.

The Bernerhof in Berne

https://www.efd.admin.ch/content/efd/en/home/das-efd/kontakt/der-bernerhof--vom-nobelhotel-zum-sitz-des-efd.html

Le Bernerhof: de l'hôtel de luxe au siège du DFF

Le Bernerhof est le siège du Département fédéral des finances. Autrefois hôtel de luxe, aujourd’hui bâtiment administratif et de représentation moderne de la capitale fédérale, ce lieu a une histoire qui est étroitement liée à celle de l’État fédéral. Mais pas forcément pour les raisons que l’on pourrait imaginer.

Vidéo: Le Bernerhof: Autrefois hôtel de luxe, aujourd'hui bâtiment administratif et de représentation

Un hôtel de luxe pour Berne

En 1848, Berne devient le siège du gouvernement. Quatre fois par année, les Chambres s'y réunissent. La ville doit alors mettre un lieu à la disposition du gouvernement et de l'administration. En 1857, la construction de l'Hôtel du Gouvernement fédéral (l'actuelle aile ouest du Palais fédéral) s'achève. Prévoyant que les conseillers et les invités officiels auront bientôt besoin d'un hébergement adéquat à Berne, l'hôtelier Jean Kraft fait construire entre 1856 et 1858 l'Hôtel Bernerhof, à l'ouest de l'Hôtel du Gouvernement fédéral, par les architectes Friedrich Studer et Johann Carl Dähler. L'établissement comprend 123 chambres.

Une clientèle renommée

Jusqu'en 1870, le Bernerhof est le seul hôtel de luxe de Berne. Au moment de son ouverture, il est même la meilleure adresse en Europe. De nombreuses têtes couronnées et personnalités y séjournent, parmi lesquelles, notamment, l'empereur de France Napoléon III, l'impératrice de Russie, les reines de Suède et des Pays-Bas, le roi du Siam, le maharadjah de Jodhpur en Inde, le baron de Rothschild, l'écrivain Carl Spitteler, le compositeur Jaques Offenbach et l'explorateur polaire Roald Amundsen.

Quelques années après l'ouverture du Bernerhof, un hôtel concurrent attire également la clientèle aisée. Il s'agit de l'Hôtel Bellevue, situé à l'est du Palais fédéral, qui reçoit encore aujourd’hui des hôtes du monde entier.

Photos de l’Hôtel Bernerhof

Crédit photographique : Bibliothèque de la Bourgeoisie, Berne

Le Bernerhof devient un bâtiment administratif et de représentation

Le déclenchement de la Première Guerre mondiale en 1914 marque un tournant économique. Du jour au lendemain, la clientèle disparaît. Même après la guerre, l'hôtel ne retrouvera pas vraiment sa situation d'antan. En 1923, l'hôtelier meurt et sa veuve vend le Bernerhof à la Confédération. L'établissement fait alors l'objet de travaux de transformation et accueille, en 1924, le Département fédéral des finances.

En 2004 et 2005, le Bernerhof subit de nouvelles transformations majeures: le rez-de-chaussée est doté de plusieurs salons d’apparat et aménagé pour pouvoir accueillir des banquets lors des visites d’État. Les bureaux sont aussi modernisés. Depuis 2021, le cinquième étage accueille le Skylounge, qui sert de cafétéria et d’espace pour les formes de travail modernes.

Un modèle pour l’architecture hôtelière

Le Bernerhof occupe une place importante dans l’histoire de l’architecture hôtelière: il sert de modèle pour la construction de l’Hôtel Victoria d’Interlaken, entre 1864 et 1866. Celui-ci sera le premier grand hôtel qui ouvrira ses portes dans la jeune métropole touristique de l’Oberland bernois.

"Le Bernerhof à Berne"

On trouvera de plus amples informations sur le Bernerhof dans le guide «Le Bernerhof à Berne» de la série des Guides d’art et d’histoire de la Suisse, édité par la Confédération suisse et la Société d’histoire de l’art en Suisse (SHAS). Le guide peut être commandé sur le site Internet de la SHAS en français, allemand, italien et anglais.     

Le Bernerhof à Berne

https://www.efd.admin.ch/content/efd/fr/home/das-efd/kontakt/der-bernerhof--vom-nobelhotel-zum-sitz-des-efd.html